Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > RTAS & TDM Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2014, 01:31 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default SSD4 horror

Hi, has anyone battled with SSD4 on a PTHD10 system? I got it running (the aax beta version) for a bit, I haven't used it much, bit I don't recall having issues, but all of a sudden now when I open a session SSD plays wrong sounds and when I try to open the GUI PT crashes.

I went to download and replace the AAX beta version with the RTAS one, now when I open the session the sound (I think) is the right one that SSD4 puts out, but still, when I try to open the GUY Pro Tools crashes.

Heeelp

:)

... and long live Addictive Drums
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2014, 01:34 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: SSD4 horror

Hi Kristo I did have an issue with SSD4 for a long time but their support done remote control on my PC and managed to sort it. I wouldn't use the AAX beta I'd stick with the RTAS version for now. What support done for me was to use a free registry cleaner and since then I've not had 1 single issue. Try that and let us know if this helps
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2014, 07:17 AM
noeqplease noeqplease is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Planet Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 152
Default Re: SSD4 horror

Your signature states you are using Mavericks (OSX 10.9).

Is this correct?

That might be an issue.
__________________
Nick Sevilla
nick@nicksevilla.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2014, 08:07 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: SSD4 horror

I use it all the time, no issues.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2014, 11:09 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: SSD4 horror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
Hi, has anyone battled with SSD4 on a PTHD10 system? I got it running (the aax beta version) for a bit, I haven't used it much, bit I don't recall having issues, but all of a sudden now when I open a session SSD plays wrong sounds and when I try to open the GUI PT crashes.

I went to download and replace the AAX beta version with the RTAS one, now when I open the session the sound (I think) is the right one that SSD4 puts out, but still, when I try to open the GUY Pro Tools crashes.

Heeelp

:)

... and long live Addictive Drums
They only way I could ever get SSD4 to play well in PT 10 was to host SSD4 in VEP5 the problem isn't SSD4 it's 32 bit Protools 10.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2014, 11:13 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,998
Default SSD4 horror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchwood Studios View Post
They only way I could ever get SSD4 to play well in PT 10 was to host SSD4 in VEP5 the problem isn't SSD4 it's 32 bit Protools 10.

I've had not 1 issue with SSD4 since I done a registry clean that slate support helped me out with, even with the CLA expansion pack SSD4 plays nicely now
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis

Last edited by Raoul23; 12-11-2014 at 12:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2014, 05:34 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: SSD4 horror

Not sure if you saw this.

Apparently SSD4 works just fine in PT10 if you use the RTAS version. AAX is known to be problematic

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2...&postcount=128
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2014, 02:51 PM
SPA's Avatar
SPA SPA is offline
Slate Pro Audio & Slate Digital
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 85
Default Re: SSD4 horror

Use the RTAS version in PT10.

Cheers,
Steven
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2015, 12:11 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: SSD4 horror

I can't get it to play nice now. 3 crashes just trying to load a kiit and then try a different one. nothing playing back at the time and no complicated routing or anything just out the main outs..

Oi just need to replace some toms so don't need tons of separate outs or anything... just keeps crashing.

Going to call them in the morning.. going to sleep now.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD4 crash loop help, any body ??? Raoul23 The Drum Room 5 12-07-2014 03:24 AM
SSD4 issue with midi Raoul23 RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 6 08-13-2014 02:51 PM
SSD4 for $99 YYR123 The Drum Room 3 08-06-2014 09:12 AM
CPU problem with NI Studio Drummer - how about SSD4? nstu The Drum Room 4 07-15-2012 01:14 AM
SSD4 Platinum for sale Jimibrix Windows 3 03-11-2012 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com