Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-10-2011, 07:29 PM
basslines basslines is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newcastle Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

Thanks for that DISM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-10-2011, 07:34 PM
basslines basslines is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newcastle Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
Correct. Your session folders should be on their own independent drive. Pro Tools stays on the same drive as your OS.
Thanks Dism.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-25-2011, 11:24 AM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

Another very notable difference is with the black drives, they have dual data processors, increasing throughput.
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-22-2011, 09:55 PM
barters81 barters81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 202
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

NOOO!!!! I just bought a new drive, plugged it into my Sarotech box...and straight away had issues with DAE errors etc etc.......

Of course after reading this I now realise I shouldn't have bought a Caviar Green drive. IDIOT!!

Is there anyway to get around these issues?

Or should I just use this as a my 3rd or fourth backup? :)

EDIT: I've since learned that I ma be able to turn off the "Intellipower" portion of the Green drives so it doesn't slow my RPM down to save power, nor will it return to the 'zero point' if not used for a period of time. Again "apparently" I can access these functions through Windows 7. I guess I'm off to find a windows 7 computer to see if this is fact or fiction.
__________________
- Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz, 4gb RAM, 320Gb HD @ 7200RPM
- 2 x Profire 2626
- PT8.0.1 M-powered
- Yamaha HS80M
- Axiom Pro 49
- 500GB Sarotech Hardbox external HDD plugged through express card, FW800
- Waves Gold bundle, L3-16, Eddie Kramer
- 2 x Coles 4038, Royer 121, 2 x Shinybox MXL, 4 x SM57, 3 x SM58, AKG D112, SM81, Shure 16A, sE 2000, 3 x Audix D2

Last edited by barters81; 02-23-2011 at 12:56 AM. Reason: New information
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:39 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

Quote:
Or should I just use this as a my 3rd or fourth backup? :)
that would be best
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-24-2011, 01:40 AM
barters81 barters81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 202
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
that would be best
Agreed......my final solution ended up being the purchase of a Caviar black drive. Works like a dream in comparison.
__________________
- Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz, 4gb RAM, 320Gb HD @ 7200RPM
- 2 x Profire 2626
- PT8.0.1 M-powered
- Yamaha HS80M
- Axiom Pro 49
- 500GB Sarotech Hardbox external HDD plugged through express card, FW800
- Waves Gold bundle, L3-16, Eddie Kramer
- 2 x Coles 4038, Royer 121, 2 x Shinybox MXL, 4 x SM57, 3 x SM58, AKG D112, SM81, Shure 16A, sE 2000, 3 x Audix D2
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:41 AM
aka21stCentury aka21stCentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Loma Prieta Fault
Posts: 779
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

I am using the new vs 12 seagate as a boot drive... even that latest model Seagate has released a firmware update. What is going on with these drivers... all the old pros retiring?

I got a Deskstar by accident, not the Hitachi ultrastar I wanted... or made an error, anyway the price was decent, on sale, I am using it in an oxford enclosure as a backup - 1 tByte. I would suggest the same with your green drive. Actually I don't know whether it is the Oxford 934 chipset vs my old 911s but it sleeps, kind of a nice feature for a backup drive...the 934 enclosure has a small fan with a bit of a whine... it sleeps on its own, kind've of a nice feature for a backup drive. I have to manually eject, then turn off my 1394a Oxford 911 external.

Either Hitachi Ultrastar or WD Black Caviar IMO 7,200. I gave up on Cheetahs a long while back -- LVDs... the whine was just too much...unless you build a closet for them (air conditioned) like Studio D.

So the RPMs decrease is that it? No wonder the firmware issues are too mucking futch.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-26-2011, 05:01 PM
aka21stCentury aka21stCentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Loma Prieta Fault
Posts: 779
Default Re: SATA drives- which one?

Well I came upon another post here re: samsung drives & hitachi -- supposedly made in same factory, whether this is was an XP driver issue (or controller issue on mobo) re pinning down to sata 1.5 to fix problems.

Well the first G-5 from Apple had that problem, it was not the drives, or drivers, it was the onboard controller. (Seagate has finally released new firmware for all buggy drives...all easily downloadable -- including the latest SATA 2.0 vs 12 which BTW can be bridge pinned down to 1.5 if on an original G-5 PPC. Why Seagate has 16 mBs of cache on SATA 2.0 drives vs 32 and is only retailing 10k Cheetahs LVDs not SATA 3.0 is a puzzlement. Maybe because they have been cranking out SAS drives for 6+ years, unavailable to consumers.

Perhaps SATA Oxford chipsets don't have this problem with Hitachi drives. WD had such a poor rep years ago... Hitachi always the long distance runner. Let's hope I'm right and Hitachi Ultrastars prefer AHCI SATA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sata and ide drives mdd0127 Storage Subsystems 1 03-13-2006 10:10 AM
SATA Drives waterbug 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-07-2005 07:01 AM
Do SATA Controllers/ PCI Cards/ SATA Drives work.. Jason Robo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-14-2005 07:23 PM
Anyone using SATA Drives? joamoa2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 03-16-2005 07:49 PM
SATA Drives?? ozzymau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-21-2004 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com