Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2009, 04:41 AM
sjs sjs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 27
Question Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

There are some manufacturers, claiming their Express Card SSD's are equipped with both USB 2.0 and PCI-e technology. Delkin, in example. Can someone confirm that? And, of course, are they compatible with PT8?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2010, 02:52 AM
sjs sjs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 27
Post Re: Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

Well, I just got Verbatim ExpressCard SSD 16 Gb - it is recognized as an additional controller and performs uncompromising. Protools 8 says it is a valid volume for all operations.
Anyone interested can see some technical details in this file:
http://svetlinstaikov.com/Files/PerfData.zip
The machine is Dell Inspiron 1520, other hard drives are the internal 5400 rpm 160 Gb Toshiba and the external Firewire 400 OWC Mercury Elite Al Pro 500 Gb 7200 rpm 16 Mb cache.
Hope this information will help someone.
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2010, 03:40 PM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

PCIe and USB? Do you mean SATA and USB?
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thesoundgroup/
Ideascale Profile: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/pmd/24503-3779

Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/003R/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2010, 04:52 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-ManLA View Post
PCIe and USB? Do you mean SATA and USB?
Some newer cards are dropping into an unused PCIe slot. Which is cool because in most cases it should I beleive bypass the SATA controller entirely.

Pure Bandwith
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2010, 02:53 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

up to 1 GB per second in some cases. the OCZ z-drive series.

http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...vjiueur4ho42a1

not sure where to find them in the states, but they are really beastly.
1tb
870 MB/s read,
780 MB/s write.

someone wanna do the calculations for the number of tracks you can run on that?
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:24 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-ManLA View Post
PCIe and USB? Do you mean SATA and USB?
Express cards connect directly to the PCIe bus, so no SATA
Sony SxS cards for the EX1 & EX3 cameras probably being the most used express cards for media
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2010, 12:16 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 932
Default Re: Express Card SSD utilizing PCI-e

Not true. My MTRON 16GB connects through PCI-E via the Express Card slot. Not sure but some Express Cards plugged in will Utilize the USB bus (as w/some Express Card SSDs), but NOT ALL. My MTRON does 100MB/Sec. Just do some research.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI-Express to PCI Adapter Card RuffinMedia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-27-2010 05:58 PM
Magma CB2, HD PCI, Express Card Snitz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-29-2009 07:51 AM
express card boove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-07-2008 11:17 AM
Is FW(400) express card a solution? June Moris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-27-2008 04:11 PM
PCI Express to PCI card... studiomusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-04-2005 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com