Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2002, 04:44 PM
nukmusic nukmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: new orleans, la
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: Converting MIDI to Audio

If I understand you----You've recorded midi from your synth onto midi tracks in Protools and it plays back from Protools into your synth ok. Now your need to record the audio playback from your synth onto an audio track in ProTools?

Well....I use normal levels, just don't let the tracks clip and listen for any distortion. And if you will be adding effects later, I would turn off the board effects. If you add effects when you record, you can't remove them later.
__________________
Docta'J

Download free music at
http://www.nukmusic.com
nEVER uNDERESTIMATE kNOWLEDGE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2002, 05:37 PM
DougSt.Louis DougSt.Louis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 99
Default Re: Converting MIDI to Audio

Thanks for the reply Doc, appreciate the advice. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2002, 11:33 PM
shadowbox shadowbox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: West Hollywood, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: Converting MIDI to Audio

As far as recording with effects or not I would say it depends on the sound. Many times on pad or synth sound the FX are an integral part of the sound. I would record these with the FX. But if it is something like a Piano or string sound with reverb , you might want to turn the reverb off if you have a good Reverb plug-in. I prefer Reverb One and RenVerb over the on board reverbs of my synths.

The levels should be just like any other tracks. After reading many threads on this forum, my current method is to record everything with peaks around -10dbFS. Ideally, to get the best S/N from your synth, your MIDI volume should be at 127 for the whole track, any volume changes should be done on the audio track. But this can be hard sometimes if the volume changes are part of the performace. This is getting pretty nit-picky. The reality is that you probably won't notice that big of a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2002, 01:48 AM
DougSt.Louis DougSt.Louis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 99
Default Converting MIDI to Audio

I'm recording midi onto audio tracks. Does anyone have any advice on what kind of levels I shoud use? Also should I turn off the effects in my synth?

Thanks

Composer/Wannabe Engineer [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2002, 09:54 AM
DougSt.Louis DougSt.Louis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 99
Default Re: Converting MIDI to Audio

Thanks Chris [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting midi to audio smrpg99 Pro Tools 9 3 12-20-2012 08:14 PM
converting midi to audio using..... noaortiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-26-2011 03:46 PM
converting audio to midi E-an Tips & Tricks 6 02-23-2004 12:37 PM
Converting Audio To MIDI kCmCg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-07-2003 05:11 AM
Converting Midi to Audio DougSt.Louis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-08-2002 01:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com