Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-14-2011, 06:50 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: DAE drive too slow or fragmented. Stop playback

Please excuse my ignorance of Macs, but this kind of drive behavior is exactly what happens with PT on a PC when a drive slips from UDMA to PIO mode.

Maybe there is a clue here.

Hope this helps,
Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-15-2011, 04:30 AM
bonfi64 bonfi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milan italy
Posts: 148
Default Re: DAE drive too slow or fragmented. Stop playback

to fab leisure: disk defrag is easily obtained using TECH TOOLS but it take ages, if you using 1 tera drive i think is to much, try to partition drive aroung 300 gig (1 tera partitioned in 3 or 4 partition) and use one for recordings (projects) one for libraries and one for loops (talking about an ext fw 800 drive)
just recopy yor drive to three different partitions, of course remember to NEVER records sessions on the main drive, maybe just for test sessions. a good idea is to always consolidate file and export in the format you use and make new sessions example: recording sessions, editing sessions, mixing sessions, mastering sessions, also because you're probably using differnt settings in PT, like ADC, number of voices, i personally do also diffent sessions for stems, in order to use maximum power for only maybe 10 drums tracks, in this case voices will be different for the editing sessions with maybe 60 or 70 tracks. for back up if you just copy the folders will be ok, so you don't mess up with back up utilities, TIME MACHINE no good, is clearly written also in AVID site, don't know why some peole using it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drive too slow or fragmented messages... andrewd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-30-2010 01:26 PM
"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or iminzayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 04-15-2010 11:28 PM
"DRIVE TO SLOW OR FRAGMENTED" RoyaltyOnline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-12-2006 10:50 PM
9073 "slow/fragmented" disc error - playback stops!! PLS HELP VanEdge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-27-2001 01:05 AM
Drive is too fragmented or too slow? scenaria Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-26-2001 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com