Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-23-2018, 04:34 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 888
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Sounds like you got yourselves a hardware with a different calibration, Waves might not be some people's favourite dev but they are extremely good and definitely better that what you describe. One explanation could be that they often model hardware that is not in stock condition, has been purposely modified or simply taken off the shelves of a famous studio where it has been serving for years aging and becoming part of the sound of the facility.
+1

The extensive Waves SSL vs actuall SSL blindfold tests on the Avid website a good few years ago sorted out any conjecture. The mixes using the same material were virtually indisguishable from each other. I remeber my results showed I actually slightly preferred the plugin to the desk. Overall no one could say which was which i.e. real or virual. Neither did in general people prefer one over the other. This was a 50/50, A/B test so it should have been pretty easy right?!

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/ifi30t
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-23-2018, 05:24 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,332
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
I know some people just want to believe anything waves is great (see above)
I could say pretty much the same about you and UAD, I'm not trying to defend Waves more than I think they deserve, especially now that they have come to their senses with the prices. Anybody who is serious about working with audio knows that there is no better or worse (as long as plugs are well coded) and that good sound is a relative term.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:01 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,135
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I could say pretty much the same about you and UAD, I'm not trying to defend Waves more than I think they deserve, especially now that they have come to their senses with the prices. Anybody who is serious about working with audio knows that there is no better or worse (as long as plugs are well coded) and that good sound is a relative term.
of course.

There's plenty of UAD plugins I don't like but they nailed the EQ and Comps in most cases. But yeah, just opinion and all relative :) I just re read my post and it came across completely different to how i intended it.. sorry about that
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:15 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,332
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
I just re read my post and it came across completely different to how i intended it.. sorry about that
Don't worry too much about that :)
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:16 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,965
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

would love a real comparison of the UA SSL and softubes' Console 1
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:47 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,332
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
would love a real comparison of the UA SSL and softubes' Console 1
...and here we go again!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-23-2018, 01:53 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,343
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Console 1 is a 9000 Strip, isn’t it?

The New UAD is a 4K iirc
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-24-2018, 03:22 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,135
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Console 1 is a 9000 Strip, isn’t it?

The New UAD is a 4K iirc
yes the range of ssl plugins are not all modelling the same strip, nor the same bus compressor. But still, there are some similar characteristics inherent in the SSL's that have been modelled.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-24-2018, 05:53 PM
seriousfun seriousfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

The stock Softube Console 1 plugin is an SSL 4K. They offer a 9K for ~$300 (and a Neve-type).

Back to the OP -- I have some duplicates between UAD and Waves, and the UAD usually wins for accuracy, personality, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-05-2018, 06:56 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 713
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

My Apollo Twin USB came with a few "Legacy" editions of some classics, like the 1176 and the L2A. How do these compare or stack-up with their newer editions?

FWIW - I did like the L2A legacy on something I tracked recently as a Console insert. (incoming) I'm fairly certain the bulk of what I liked about it was the leveling, as it's name suggests.

I'm pretty well stocked up on Plugin Alliance, Waves and Softube plugs. I've stayed away from being tied too much to the UAD platform for reasons others have stated much better than I could. I do, though, like the idea of getting another couple of Unison offerings. I've only got the stock 610B, which is no slouch, but have not used it much more than I have used it after dialing things in. I need more practice with it before I start demoing other offerings just in case my current short-comings are due to not fully "getting" what all Unison can/cannot do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6.4 to 6.7 - worth it? pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-23-2005 09:56 PM
is it worth it? firestorm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-12-2003 06:20 PM
002 worth it? vx2kfilmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-02-2003 12:39 AM
Is 5.1.1 worth it $50? ctsrar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 06-26-2002 03:21 PM
What's the worth of G4 933 after 6mo? beatboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-07-2002 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com