Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-22-2009, 05:35 AM

Default Does Elastic-time affect the sound/tone, even on sections where it is unused?

Am still experimenting with E.A, as i only ungraded to HD7.4 recently.

A question...If I have (for instance) a bass track, & I only use E.A to alter the timing of one note...will the rest of the rest of the track suffer sonically in any way?

B Rig: (Home/Office). M1 Mac Studio - 64gb ram - OSX 12.7.1, PT Ultimate2023.6, HD Native Thunderbolt, Omni, Avid Artist Control

http://www.lostboysstudio.com
Old 08-22-2009, 07:39 AM

Default Re: Does Elastic-time affect the sound/tone, even on sections where it is unused?

I'm not an expert at this, so this is just my guess -- I think of Elastic Audio as like fades. After it analyses the track, if you make a change to one note then it renders that change as a fade would be rendered. That's why if you move a project to a different drive it can re-render the elastic audio, just as it can re-render fades.

On sections that are affected, stretched or pitched, then yes you can hear a difference based on the algorithm used, but the untouched sections remain untouched.

Is this right?
Old 08-22-2009, 07:45 AM

Default Re: Does Elastic-time affect the sound/tone, even on sections where it is unused?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru_C View Post
A question...If I have (for instance) a bass track, & I only use E.A to alter the timing of one note...will the rest of the rest of the track suffer sonically in any way?
hate to give a question to your question cuzi hate hate.

what do your ears tell you?

Old 08-22-2009, 07:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post