Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2018, 04:48 PM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 190
Default The AVID S3 VS. the AVID Artist Mix: An In-Depth Comparison

Just posted this over in the facebook group...

Hey all, I'm back at it again with another video. In this one I compare the S3 to the Artist Mix as a Eucon control surface. This is not a how-to, it's strictly a comparison between the 2 and why one (or multiple) might make more sense over the other in your studio. Granted the price differences are HUGE but it's still interesting to see how these things compare.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptHLt9jFrfY
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2018, 08:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,035
Default Re: The AVID S3 VS. the AVID Artist Mix: An In-Depth Comparison

Thanks for this. Somewhat of an eye-opener for me
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2018, 09:34 PM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 190
Default Re: The AVID S3 VS. the AVID Artist Mix: An In-Depth Comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Thanks for this. Somewhat of an eye-opener for me
Yea, definitely! All-in all, I can understand why the S3 is at the price point it's at. I'm kind of bummed that I can't use the AVB interface since I'm on Windows. There are a few mobile situation I can think of where it would have been perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2018, 11:48 AM
RogerPaolo RogerPaolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Default Re: The AVID S3 VS. the AVID Artist Mix: An In-Depth Comparison

now I understand better how VCA spil works on the S3. In Logic this doesn't work, at least not by double clicking the select button of the VCA fader. I don't know if this workflow is supported by LPX anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support... ctyelvis Artist Series 5 01-25-2017 01:33 PM
Artist Chat window in Avid Artist Community taylor4814 Avid Cloud Collaboration 0 01-25-2017 06:30 AM
2 avid artist mixes and one artist control V2 for sale Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 2 03-21-2016 09:55 PM
Avid Artist Mix (x2) and Avid Artist Control khoop2112 Buy & Sell 0 11-07-2015 05:32 AM
Bit Depth, Avid to Pro Tools Workflow youthofbeast Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-31-2011 06:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com