Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-26-2005, 02:11 PM

Default Any tips on mixing for DOLBY SR?

Hello!
I`m currently working on a 2-track mix for film. My final product (a quicktime with stereo 48k 16bit audio)will then be transferred to DOLBY SR. Since this is my first time working with film I just wanted to know if you guys have any tips, comments, recommendations for my mix. Also, does anyone know what exactly dBFS (Full Scale) means, is it RMS?
Thanks a lot....
Old 07-26-2005, 03:02 PM

Default Re: Any tips on mixing for DOLBY SR?

Quote:
Also, does anyone know what exactly dBFS (Full Scale) means, is it RMS?
Thanks a lot....
No it is not RMS. Remember that dB is a way to measure sound level in reference to a fixed level.

In the air we measure pressure waves against a fixed preasure:

dB SPL= 20 log P/P(ref)

P = sound pressure in dynes/cm2
P(ref )= 0.0002 dyne/cm2 (the threshold of hearing)

On a wire we measure current or voltage levels against a fixed level:

The basic formula is: dB = 10 log P/P(ref)

P = power in watts
P(ref) = reference power

But it’s a little more complicated here. You need to know what you are referencing so we have dBm, dBu, dBv or dBV:

dBm = 10 log P/.001 (P(ref)=1 milliwatt)
dBu or dBv = 20 log V/V(ref) where V(ref) = 0.775V (0dBm @ 600 Ohms = .775V)
dBV= 20 log V/V(ref) where V(ref) = 1 volt.

In the digital world we measure bits against bits.

dBFS = 20 log SL/FS

SL = Sample Level, a binary representation of the sample level
FS = Full Scale, a binary representation of maximum possible SL (all bits=1)

For example, on a 16-bit system:

20 log (1111 1111 1111 1111 / 1111 1111 1111 1111) = 0 dBFS