Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2003, 06:02 PM
MindDead's Avatar
MindDead MindDead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 179
Default Inserts or Sends?

This may seem dumb but, what's the difference between an Insert & a Send? I know I can use them both for plugins, but whats the actual difference? Ihave been using a Bus to Aux track to apply plugins than bussing track to it to save my CPU, what if I insert the tracks to the Bus? and what if I add a plugin to a send and not a insert, is there a differance in sound? or just where it goes and when? HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2003, 08:25 PM
spookster spookster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 238
Default Re: Inserts or Sends?

I not exactly sure what you jsut said, but maybe this will help.

Even if you buss a track to an aux send. You still have to put the plug-ins on that aux tracks insterts before you can hear the effects. What an insert does is put the plug-in directly into the signal path of that channel. An aux send busses an exact replica of that channel to an auxillary track so it can be manipulated without affecting the original channel in any way. The most common reasons for doing this are so you can blend the original signal (the dry signal) with the auxillary signal (the wet signal, and to save processing power. You can save big-time processing power by bussing multiple tracks to one auxillary track that contains a specific effect (most commong would be reverb). Instead of opening up a reverb plug-in for everything that you want to add reverb to, you just buss whatever level you'd prefer to the reverb aux track.

Aux tracks are also used for things like bussing your entire drum mix to one aux track so you can control the volume of your entire drum mix with one stereo aux fader. Hope this helped.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2003, 11:21 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Inserts or Sends?

Insert- puts the device (plugin or hardware) before the fader/eq, inline on the channel or group.
Send-continiously variable (via fader) output pre of post fader.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserts and Sends Connecticut macOS 1 08-17-2011 03:20 PM
sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k lionstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-06-2007 03:34 PM
Inserts and sends in protools bhatch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-20-2004 03:36 PM
Inserts and Sends? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-26-2003 10:50 PM
Sends before inserts... Why not? Corey Shay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-31-2002 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com