Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2007, 02:22 PM
lionstudios lionstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central California
Posts: 73
Default sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k

Okay. I have done this on other programs but not on pro tools. I want to route the output of one track to an external device. I cant get the meters to move one the device, but cant get the singal back. I am using a patch bay and I am sure, i plug it into the right spot, I tried alot. Okay so this is what i did. send to output 3, then from output I ran it to my effects unit. The signal is picked up by the unit. But How do i get it back. I ran the output of the unit into input 5 on my digi rack. I even tried every other input on the thind. No signal. No if the track is armed or not.

Another thing How can I play along to a track I recording with out recording what I am play. I can listen to what is recorded but what I am playing is muted. Whats up. Little help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2007, 02:27 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k

The "Getting Started Guide" was a big help to me when I got my system. Have you read it yet?

After you plug in your external system to one of the eight inputs of the 002 (I am guessing this is your system since you didn't say what you have) you then need to select that input on your track. You should then see and hear the return when you record-arm the track.

Page 685 of the 7.3 manual explains it well.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2007, 02:37 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k

I'm struggling to understand your problem, but I think I get it. Are you wanting the external device to be an insert on the channel or come up as a separate input in Pro Tools?

If you want it to be an insert, click on one of the track inserts (as you would to insert a plug-in) but select "i/o" at the bottom of the window. Pick the path you want (don't use Analog 1 or 2) - we'll say Analog 3. Pro Tools will now send the track from output 3 on the I/O which you will plug into the device. You will take the output of the device into Analog input 3 for the return. It will come up on the same track.

If you want it as a separate input from the track there are several ways to do it. Your best way would probably be a send on the channel. To bring it back in this way you'll create an aux track and set the input to whatever I/O input you choose.


To play along with a track you'll want to be in input monitoring mode. Option+K is what you need - keep in mind you'll have to have the track record enabled for it to work.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:26 PM
lionstudios lionstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central California
Posts: 73
Default Re: sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k

I read the guide. Its basic knowlegde on the sends. I just do know why its not working. I have tried it everyway in the book.

Input monitoring mode. Cool thats it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:34 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k

"Record Monitoring Modes

Pro Tools offers two modes of input monitoring:
Auto Input and Input Only. These monitoring
modes determine how input signals are moni-
tored during playback, record, or while the
transport is stopped.

Auto Input Monitoring

In Auto Input mode, when session playback is
stopped, Pro Tools monitors audio input. When
playback is started for a punch-in, Pro Tools
monitors existing track material up until the
punch point. While punched in, the input sig-
nal is monitored. On punch-out, monitoring
switches back to the existing track material. This
is similar to the auto-switching logic found on
digital and analog multitrack tape machines."

Page 261 of the 7.3 manual for more info.

As far as the send, if you are going to channels 1-4, do you have the mic/line switch in the correct position?

What Pro Tools system do you have?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserts and Sends Connecticut macOS 1 08-17-2011 03:20 PM
Inserts and sends in protools bhatch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-20-2004 03:36 PM
Inserts and Sends? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-26-2003 10:50 PM
Inserts or Sends? MindDead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-20-2003 11:21 PM
Sends before inserts... Why not? Corey Shay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-31-2002 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com