Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2018, 01:13 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

I've read a few different articles that recommend putting a MB Comp on chug guitar, so it's just compressing the frequencies where the chug lives.

I've been waiting for a sale (which is finally here) to buy the Waves C6, but after demoing it I'm not as interested. It alters/colors the sound too much, even when it's just on the factory default. It even seems like it's still affecting the signal when bypassed.

I don't have the cash to buy Fabfilter MB, my first choice, or something of similar quality, that's either equally or higher priced.

So on to my question.. can this same technique be duplicated by a DynEq? Maybe by making a wide bell curve to that covers the areas that'd be used my the MB?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2018, 01:16 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 206
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

I believe dynEQ will work very similarly. Check out Waves F6 for that - affordable, versatile, not CPU hog, zero latency. And on sale now too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2018, 02:11 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
I believe dynEQ will work very similarly. Check out Waves F6 for that - affordable, versatile, not CPU hog, zero latency. And on sale now too.
I have, and really like, the F6. It sounds great and the GUI is cool. How would the setup work if I'm not looking to cut any frequencies, just compress them. Is that even possible with a DynEq?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2018, 07:46 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 479
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Try using a de-esser that has fully variable frequency. There are actually a lot of different ways to side chain and hit only certain frequencies, it's just quicker with MB comp.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2018, 08:26 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64GTOBOY View Post
Try using a de-esser that has fully variable frequency. There are actually a lot of different ways to side chain and hit only certain frequencies, it's just quicker with MB comp.
I'm not too knowledgeable when it comes to MB Comps, but don't they compress a (user set) range of frequencies simultaneously? Like if you set the first crossover to 200 Hz and the second to 750 Hz, the MB will compress everything inbetween those two freqs, ya?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2018, 09:43 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,171
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
I'm not too knowledgeable when it comes to MB Comps, but don't they compress a (user set) range of frequencies simultaneously? Like if you set the first crossover to 200 Hz and the second to 750 Hz, the MB will compress everything inbetween those two freqs, ya?
Yes.
Keep in mind that multiband comps and dynamic eq's are two completely different things. There's been much bits spilled here on that subject. I have multiple version of each type of plugin so I know what's what. Dynamic eq allows you to specify a q factor and multiband comps don't. A multiband comp will more or less treat the pertinent band flatly bound by whatever crossover slope is used on each end of the band. I have C6 and it's pretty good and you're mistaken that it affects the signal when bypassed. I also have the FabFilter Pro MB and while expensive and a tricky beast to tame it's worth the effort. For dynamic eq I use the HOFA IQ-EQ which can work in both dynamic eq as well as regular eq and as a bonus work as a regular compressor. Again not cheap but worth it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2018, 07:24 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 206
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
I have, and really like, the F6. It sounds great and the GUI is cool. How would the setup work if I'm not looking to cut any frequencies, just compress them. Is that even possible with a DynEq?
For the application you describe, there will be very small (if even audible) difference between compressing frequencies and reducing frequencies. Give it a try and see if it works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2018, 09:15 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
For the application you describe, there will be very small (if even audible) difference between compressing frequencies and reducing frequencies. Give it a try and see if it works for you.
When triggering an external track (via side chain), are there certain instruments where MB Comp works better than DynEq, and vise versa? Is it not that black n white, i.e. every mix is different, or even more complicated, like depending on how other competing tracks are being balanced if there are more then just two tracks cluttering a common freq?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2018, 03:03 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 206
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
When triggering an external track (via side chain), are there certain instruments where MB Comp works better than DynEq, and vise versa? Is it not that black n white, i.e. every mix is different, or even more complicated, like depending on how other competing tracks are being balanced if there are more then just two tracks cluttering a common freq?
Only in terms of workflow, or philosophy if you want. In the end both tools are just attenuating certain frequency range. The only principal difference is the curve. With MB, it is a band-pass (flat in the middle, HP and LP at the extremities), while with dynamic EQ it is bell or shelf or whatever else it has in it, and you usually can control the Q. Just keep that in mind, and then it is easy to select the right kind of tool.

Now, as concerning specific plugins, that's another question. There are some very versatile like Waves F6 or FF Pro-MB, where you can do pretty anything, or some more simple ones like bx_dynEQ, or even totally basic ones, you choose.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-05-2018, 05:01 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,171
Default Re: MB Comp / DynEq on Chug Guitar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
Only in terms of workflow, or philosophy if you want. In the end both tools are just attenuating certain frequency range. The only principal difference is the curve. With MB, it is a band-pass (flat in the middle, HP and LP at the extremities), while with dynamic EQ it is bell or shelf or whatever else it has in it, and you usually can control the Q. Just keep that in mind, and then it is easy to select the right kind of tool.

Now, as concerning specific plugins, that's another question. There are some very versatile like Waves F6 or FF Pro-MB, where you can do pretty anything, or some more simple ones like bx_dynEQ, or even totally basic ones, you choose.
Problem with the FF Pro-MB is not being able to get really narrow bands; you can only get so far so doing anything surgical is out of the question. And the limit is not the same across all bands; i.e. not a number like say 200 HZ across all but maybe 200HZ in a low band and 2KHz in a higher band. Depends where on the frequency spectrum you are. I know because i have it and have questioned FF about it. They say if you want narrower then to go to a dynamic EQ.

Luckily the HOFA IQ-EQ I have will do anything - regular EQ, dynamic EQ and multiband compression. Although the latter is a bit hairy to setup.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BX Digital DynEQ / Dolby Cat 22 Preset Siegfried Meier Pro Tools 10 0 01-19-2013 12:06 PM
Bass guitar comp / strings hitting frets Raoul23 Tips & Tricks 7 02-04-2012 10:42 PM
Emulate complete guitar signal path: Comp -> Amp -> Reverb BrainSaladXero Virtual Instruments 7 11-30-2007 03:28 AM
PSP Master comp, nearest plugin comp to Manley Vari MU? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-22-2007 05:21 PM
which comp on distorded metal guitar? seth666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-24-2006 12:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com