Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2018, 10:52 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 991
Default video monitor management

One thing I would really love is to have the capability to manage video screens better. There are two things I'd like to do regularly which I can't:
  1. Have the control room monitor show slightly different information than the monitor on the ADR stage. My recordist really doesn't like to see the streamers on the screen as they distract from her view of sync. I could set up 3 monitors on the iMac, but as far as I can tell there's no way to duplicate put the video screen from Pro Tools on both of those without putting streamers on both of them. (And even that requires a splitter for the HDMI signal, not two different monitors in different thunderbolt/lightning ports.)
  2. Use only one monitor in the control room in the Foley control room with edit and video windows, but a monitor on the Foley stage with only the video. My Foley artist doesn't mind seeing a clone of my edit screen, but I don't like having the video window as big as she needs it. (The Foley stage doesn't have a full-time video monitor at present, but shares it with the control room which doubles as a sound design suite. We do have a monitor on another system in that room which we can move into the Foley stage, but it's harder to move than the one in the Foley control room.)

As far as I can tell, there's no feature in Pro Tools to do either of these things, so I'm wondering if there's a 3rd party app for it, something that could make a clone of the whole or a a segment of one monitor and can also have other apps on the 3rd (or 2nd) monitor as well. I haven't found anything in the App Store, but maybe I'm not using the right search terms. Some have suggested something comparable to Virtual VTR (not sure if that software still exists, but I know there is something), but I'm not sure it even does what I'm asking. And, of course, if Avid does have a feature I haven't found, I'm eager to hear about it as I always prefer to work without 3rd party apps and don't have any shelfware CPUs with Intel processors which would be required to run the modern versions of Virtual VTR.


TIA!
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2018, 10:58 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 991
Default Re: video monitor management

Looks like https://splitscreenapp.com/pro.html could do #2 at least, but probably not #1.
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2018, 11:58 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: video monitor management

I use 3 monitors: edit/mix/picture playback. I don't do much ADR, but I suppose I could split the pic screen, and send that signal to a booth monitor.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2018, 12:20 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 991
Default Re: video monitor management

Yeah, that's what we're doing now, except with only two video outputs, one split.

Sent from my LM-X210CMR using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2018, 12:32 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: video monitor management

So what's the issue then? I'm confused ...

My 3rd monitor can display video playback and nothing else, i.e. mon 1 = edit, mon 2 = mix, mon 3 = pic. (If I needed to, I could simply) split the mon 3 signal to a booth monitor.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link

Last edited by EGS; 07-16-2018 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2018, 01:09 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 991
Default Re: video monitor management

Two things:
1. Getting two different images on the currently split monitor with the project video on both.
2. Getting a single (unsplit) monitor to show a portion of the primary monitor.

Sent from my LM-X210CMR using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2018, 02:20 PM
kkfaudio kkfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 195
Default Re: video monitor management

Have you tried Videoslave? https://non-lethal-applications.com/.../video-slave-3

It's a REALLY deep program, but has the ability for you to choose what you see on what monitor (as long as they are all separately connected) So, streamers to booth, but not on Main, etc...
__________________
Kevin Ferrier
Audio & Sound Design
www.trianglepost.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-2018, 02:57 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 991
Default Re: video monitor management

That sounds like exactly the ticket. Thanks. I'll check it out.

Sent from my LM-X210CMR using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-17-2018, 03:02 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 991
Default Re: video monitor management

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkfaudio View Post
Just at first glance I think this is tree VirtualVTR-like application I've heard about. I hadn't realized it was so powerful. I've been told it runs best on an independent computer rather than the same machine that's running Pro Toils. Is that your experience with it, too?

Sent from my LM-X210CMR using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2018, 05:35 PM
kkfaudio kkfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 195
Default Re: video monitor management

Nope, I run it on the same Mac Pro as pro tools. I prefer running mxf video within PT for simplicity’s sake, but when doing a vo session I’m often working with client supplied QT. One clients QT just would not play stably within PT, but once loaded into video slave everything ran as smooth as silk, and the overlays are great.

I run an Aja card for playback, but it has options for desktop monitors as well.

The demo runs fully featured but with watermark, so you can really test it out, and Flo, the developer is super responsive to any questions
__________________
Kevin Ferrier
Audio & Sound Design
www.trianglepost.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor management graveleye Tips & Tricks 22 03-12-2016 06:53 AM
Noob questions: Bass management and surround monitor calibration Dingo90 Post - Surround - Video 5 12-12-2010 11:24 PM
OT: Monitor management. Two outputs mixed together for 1 set of Monitors. Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 06-15-2010 01:57 PM
Looking for monitor management options Jperkins General Discussion 8 09-02-2009 09:18 PM
LCRS/5.1 monitor switching...and Bass Management Chris Coleman ICON & C|24 7 09-01-2002 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com