Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2018, 03:58 PM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 41
Default Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Hi all.
The main production facility I do post at is needing to switch to DNxHD1080p/59.54 as its final deliverable format. I'm trying to help create a workflow for post. I've got a lot to learn :) Been on the 422 ProRes world for ever.

I'm on PT 2018.4. 2013 MacPro, OS 10.12.6 Sierra, 3.5 6-core/64g RAM/FirePro D700. Codecs LE and PE are 2.7.3 according to Application Mgr.

First..I can't seem to drag/drop the .mxf video into PTools with the test files they've given me. If I try with the 'import video' option, there's no option to import the audio into it. But picture will import.

Once I do get the video in via import, there's only a 720p/59.94 option, not 1080p. (and playback is choppy).

The end goal that I'm also wondering about is how I'll do audio layback to that MXF file. I'm been using QT7 to marry my mix back, but I'm pretty sure I need a new workflow.

like I said.. lots to learn.. thanks for any guidance.. Been coming up empty...

DG
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2018, 12:30 AM
papalou papalou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Hi Dave,


Still on an old version of ProTools here (10.3.10), therefore not the best to help you regarding Protools, but here some clues regarding your general workflow :
- What is your MXF containers bitrate ? Are they local or on the network ? Perhaps you should try to put them on a dedicated local hard drive.
- For layback : you should consider just consolidating your mix into Protools and then rewrapping the MXF with another tool, like ffmpeg (it's a command line tool, but it's not very difficult to make a small GUI dedicated to your use case). You'll need to know how things are put in the container, as audio tracks can be combined in a single stream or put in different ones.

HTH !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2018, 01:22 AM
MatzeHD MatzeHD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

DNXHD has a special Preset for Protools with ca.35 Mbit/s this works perfect, but videos with higher Bitrate works in the most cases too.
You must use a MOV container, MFX is not so good.
h264 is not good for protools and need longer encoding time as preview video.

A other posibility is the AAF Format, to import a full AVID or Adobe Videoproject!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2018, 07:31 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 994
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatzeHD View Post
DNXHD has a special Preset for Protools with ca.35 Mbit/s this works perfect, but videos with higher Bitrate works in the most cases too.
You must use a MOV container, MFX is not so good.
h264 is not good for protools and need longer encoding time as preview video.

A other posibility is the AAF Format, to import a full AVID or Adobe Videoproject!
There's no difference between MXF and MOV when using AVE. Avid have said this themselves, as long as it's a supported CODEC. Where have you heard this false information!? I've used MXF for years and not had a single issue. When encoding it can also be faster, as some programmes use the old 32-bit QT engine when exporting to MOV which slows down encoding times. Adobe Media Encoder or Davinci Resolve are my go-to apps for creating DNxHD media, and they work brilliantly.

Also, there is no "special preset" for Pro Tools, but DNxHD 36 is preferred by many.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2018, 07:35 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 994
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveGross View Post

Once I do get the video in via import, there's only a 720p/59.94 option, not 1080p. (and playback is choppy).

The end goal that I'm also wondering about is how I'll do audio layback to that MXF file. I'm been using QT7 to marry my mix back, but I'm pretty sure I need a new workflow.

like I said.. lots to learn.. thanks for any guidance.. Been coming up empty...

DG
Currently no way to import audio from MXF media, just separate the audio in Premiere or Resolve (free) and problem solved. You can also use either for final export too. Even if you didn't move to an MXF workflow, QT7 is a 32-bit app and won't be a viable option in the very near future. As for the resolution, Pro Tools will only be giving you a 720p option because that's the resolution of the video, I assume.

You can forcibly change this by holding Option (or maybe it's command) when clicking on the video track resolution/frame rate info. Another option is to use the wonderful Video Slave 3 from Non-lethal Applications.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:08 PM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 41
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Thanks for the great info!
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:13 PM
MatzeHD MatzeHD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Hi!
Yes i mean the 36Mbit/s Preset, its not called directly Pro Tools Preset!
Sure, MXF container is faster and better then Mov, but in Protools 10 Mov container works better than the MXF may be its now fixed or so!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2018, 06:52 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 994
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatzeHD View Post
Hi!
Yes i mean the 36Mbit/s Preset, its not called directly Pro Tools Preset!
Sure, MXF container is faster and better then Mov, but in Protools 10 Mov container works better than the MXF may be its now fixed or so!
Ah yeah, that would be the case as PT10 and prior use the QuickTime video engine. I think MXF only worked reliably with a Mojo interface.

PT11 onwards MXF is great.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2018, 09:39 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,110
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveGross View Post
Hi all.
The main production facility I do post at is needing to switch to DNxHD1080p/59.54 as its final deliverable format. I'm trying to help create a workflow for post. I've got a lot to learn :) Been on the 422 ProRes world for ever.

I'm on PT 2018.4. 2013 MacPro, OS 10.12.6 Sierra, 3.5 6-core/64g RAM/FirePro D700. Codecs LE and PE are 2.7.3 according to Application Mgr.

First..I can't seem to drag/drop the .mxf video into PTools with the test files they've given me. If I try with the 'import video' option, there's no option to import the audio into it. But picture will import.

Once I do get the video in via import, there's only a 720p/59.94 option, not 1080p. (and playback is choppy).

The end goal that I'm also wondering about is how I'll do audio layback to that MXF file. I'm been using QT7 to marry my mix back, but I'm pretty sure I need a new workflow.

like I said.. lots to learn.. thanks for any guidance.. Been coming up empty...

DG
If theres no option to import video, the reason is that the MXF video is OP1A, meant only for delivery. This audio ls locked,

You won't be able to do a layback to MXF, as can only be done in Media Composer.
You might be able to do a bounce "same as source"

I get an AAF from the video team, that AAF has video and chase mix down audio included/
I return my stems to the video editor, the editor creates a deliverable of MXF OP1A.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2018, 07:54 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 994
Default Re: Developing a DNxHD workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
If theres no option to import video, the reason is that the MXF video is OP1A, meant only for delivery. This audio ls locked,

You won't be able to do a layback to MXF, as can only be done in Media Composer.
You might be able to do a bounce "same as source"

I get an AAF from the video team, that AAF has video and chase mix down audio included/
I return my stems to the video editor, the editor creates a deliverable of MXF OP1A.
OP1A video will import fine, the OP was saying that audio won't import, not that the video won't.

"Same as source" will only work with QuickTime currently, not MXF. And there are lots of tools beside MC to export an MXF master.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 9 developing NOISE after 10 hrs work MrBibidy Pro Tools Software (Mac) 7 02-18-2011 05:47 PM
Is Strike still developing? joerusi Virtual Instruments 9 06-03-2008 06:48 PM
developing my own plug-ins rageagainst Virtual Instruments 1 04-19-2006 08:08 AM
anyone interested in a skill developing group? badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-17-2002 07:54 AM
OT.. Mental Problems Developing. Captain_Pants 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 129 09-22-2002 08:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com