Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2018, 07:28 AM
slashgim slashgim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: ha noi
Posts: 1
Default Custom Pro Tools Splash Screen?

Hey all,

I've been thinking about trying to create my own splash screen to replace the stock pro tools one. Does anybody know where the splash screen file is located on mac? Thanks for your input!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2018, 09:24 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,787
Default Re: Custom Pro Tools Splash Screen?

I'm honestly not trying to be a jerk here, but it appears that on a Mac, the protools application file is all that is in the applications folder. It is titled "Pro Tools.app" on my system and is 2.6 GB in size. I'll assume the splash screen is embedded within that file. It will probably not be as simple as editing a .jpg with Photoshop. If you do succeed, come back and post what you found so others can benefit too.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.4 running Protools 2018.4.0

Last edited by Obsidian Dragon; 04-17-2018 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2018, 11:19 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 723
Default Re: Custom Pro Tools Splash Screen?

On a Mac, you just explore the package and find the image. Yes, that simple. Hopefully the coders were smart enough to (digitally) sign the image via checksum or certificate to prevent tampering by people with too much time on their hands.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.4, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 680 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2018, 04:21 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,557
Default Re: Custom Pro Tools Splash Screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
On a Mac, you just explore the package and find the image. Yes, that simple. Hopefully the coders were smart enough to (digitally) sign the image via checksum or certificate to prevent tampering by people with too much time on their hands.
I think you're on to something my friend.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:52 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 43
Default Re: Custom Pro Tools Splash Screen?

You didn't get this from me but ... often you can control-click the an app and choose "Show Package Contents". Then Contents >> (app's initials)Help >> Welcome >> Images >> and look for "...splashscreen...png". Be careful though, be sure to make copies before you mess with anything.

Last edited by _JJ_; 04-17-2018 at 03:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Pro Tools Splash Screen? bbrocker Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 05-06-2016 10:18 AM
Sizing the Splash Screen. Terry Wetzel Pro Tools Software (Win) 11 12-08-2013 11:31 AM
Load Splash Screen Black Day Pro Tools 10 2 02-10-2013 09:00 AM
PT LE 8.0.5 No Launch, not even splash screen... Dan.TweekStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-04-2013 08:56 PM
PT 8.0.3 splash screen. TVPostSound Tips & Tricks 8 12-22-2009 08:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com