Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-14-2018, 04:24 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,331
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
True but the Console1 mk2 is a fantastic unit and priced very good so maybe their daw would be a bit more than logic x however, PT isn't what I call cheap either
Let me repeat that slowly... 300.....for 1 EQ..... :)

Seriously, at this point I much prefer dealing with Avid than learning another DAW. Sometimes it takes me an hour in the morning to click on the icons of the software I have, imagine one I don't know. I even uninstalled a large amount of plugins I don't regularly use.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-14-2018, 10:51 AM
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,246
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Inventing and supporting third-party plug-ins is a lot of why Pro Tools became the industry standard. I never heard of anybody getting rich from selling plug-ins.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2018, 12:18 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,343
Default Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Inventing and supporting third-party plug-ins is a lot of why Pro Tools became the industry standard.
Yeah back when Waves was the only game in town....I’m sure that helped them.

And it was probably what helped the stability....now days every body and their girlfriend has a plugin, and I don’t imagine that can be great for stability

I think Avid could make some more money selling plugs on a discount, their pro series are fantastic
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2018, 04:34 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,446
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

The costs involved in developing REALLY great plugins, combined with users expecting to pay $29 for said plugin= not a lot of money to be made doing so. So unless it's your primary focus, and you're small and lean (Softube/PA, etc), if probably doesn't make a lot of sense.

Add to this the technical expertise needed to do it well, which takes years of sustained research, means some exec can't just decide one day to dev a plug and expect it be good. Softube and UA etc have teams of people that live and breath this stuff daily.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-15-2018, 05:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,048
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin1524 View Post

Also, why not make all Avid plugins compatible with Waves Soundgrid? Why not purchase Slate Plugins and include them in Pro Tools? Or McDSP? Or Softube? Then you'd really have an Ultimate package eh?
This would be a disaster purchasing another developer's plugins. Remember Camel Audio? You know they got purchased by Apple and as I understand it those plugins are only available in Logic - somebody correct me if I'm wrong. Say Avid buys Slate? What's to say those plugins will still be available in other plugin formats? Like au or vst?

And if Avid made their plugins compatible with Soundgrid that would undercut the value of HDX cards. You think Avid doesn't have cash flow issues now?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-15-2018, 06:02 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,240
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

I personally think the current lineup of avid effect plugins are pretty good. As others have said, the pro series plugins are excellent. I also use reverb one a lot, it might just be the familiarity of using it for 15+ years, but I can get the sound I am looking for with it very quickly compared to other reverbs.

If AVID were to put any energy into new plugins, I think virtual instruments would be the place to go. If they went this route, they would need to also involve some serious updates to the MIDI side of pro tools. Some fresh VI's with good integration into Pro Tools would be a very welcome update.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-15-2018, 06:24 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,629
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
If AVID were to put any energy into new plugins, I think virtual instruments would be the place to go. If they went this route, they would need to also involve some serious updates to the MIDI side of pro tools. Some fresh VI's with good integration into Pro Tools would be a very welcome update.
^^^ This.^^^
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-15-2018, 06:48 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wyoming & Colorado .
Posts: 841
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
The costs involved in developing REALLY great plugins, combined with users expecting to pay $29 for said plugin= not a lot of money to be made doing so. So unless it's your primary focus, and you're small and lean (Softube/PA, etc), if probably doesn't make a lot of sense.

Add to this the technical expertise needed to do it well, which takes years of sustained research, means some exec can't just decide one day to dev a plug and expect it be good. Softube and UA etc have teams of people that live and breath this stuff daily.
I for one would rather see Avid concentrate on stability and perhaps more efficient CPU usage..... Right now between Avids Bundled , Waves Platinum (purchased years ago ) and slaving Reason to PT, I have more plugins than I will probably ever even try, let alone use.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.1 on OS 10.13.2 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Apple 1TB HDD and PT sessions storage on Apple 2TB HDD--


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-16-2018, 09:19 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,890
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
My 2 cents.

You want Avid making Pro Tools, not plugins, just like you want Softube making plugins not a DAW.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
I’m with Drew.
I'm with Drew too..........Only I'm still waiting for Avid to 'Make' Pro Tools into something more worthwhile....considering all the ignored ideas on ideascale.

PT is still what it's always been, a great program but it could be so much better. Forget plugins Avid, 'Let's make PT great again'
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro

Last edited by zedhed; 04-17-2018 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-24-2018, 08:34 PM
jsvalmont jsvalmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Imagine the price of a DAW made by a company that charges 300 for an EQ!
um, Avid does sell EQ plugins for $300... Pultec bundle $299, Focusrite D2/D3 $299, Joemeek Bundle $299.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you invest in HD3 PCIe today? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-18-2011 02:53 PM
Should I invest in Pro Tools? worldwidestudios Post - Surround - Video 18 08-31-2010 09:06 AM
What should i invest in next? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 03-23-2004 10:21 AM
should i invest into a control for pt??? KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 06-04-2002 06:16 AM
Invest in PRO-TOOLS now??? microphone General Discussion 16 06-08-2000 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com