Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-12-2016, 09:33 AM
Simon Johansson's Avatar
Simon Johansson Simon Johansson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 30
Default Re: D-Command Monitor Section Quality

I had a Dangerous D-Box before a got my D-Control.
Sold it when I got the ICON and haven´t regret it a bit.

X-mon and ICON and the integration between them is just great and to me the sound quality is as good as the D-Box.
__________________
All the best,
Simon

SolnaSound Production
WEBSITE SolnaSound
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-27-2018, 05:08 AM
Jeezer Jeezer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: GB
Posts: 26
Default Re: D-Command Monitor Section Quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon Johansson View Post
I had a Dangerous D-Box before a got my D-Control.
Sold it when I got the ICON and haven´t regret it a bit.

X-mon and ICON and the integration between them is just great and to me the sound quality is as good as the D-Box.
I may be reading things wrong here, but are you, or others here, saying you can (with the right mindset and possibly using it how it wasn't designed) use the Xmon as a 4 x stereo input summing mixer? (as well as a monitor controller).

You can 'sum' main, and stereo 1,2 & 3 (with the sum button on D-Command on + all 4 sources lit) to the main output (going to monitors) or indeed through alt/other outputs from xmon (to then route them back into your interface's A>D to recapture the 'summed' mix).

To use it like a summing mixer, albeit limited, you could send say all drums+bass to 'main' input, all vox to st 1, all guitars/keys to st 2 and all FX to st 4 then recombine them via xmon + Dcommand switches back to stereo...

1. Does the above make any sense in what I'm saying?
2. Would it even be worthwhile (Is Xmon doing anything less than what a dedicated "summing mixer" does - other than only have 4 stereo pairs instead of 8/16 as is typical on real summing mixers)
3. could it actually prove detrimental to the sound routing through Xmon and back in again, then back into convertors vs just sticking in the box

Obviously if using a hardware mix bus (comp/eq) that could also be factored in.

This isn't a question about the pros/cons of summing mixers, just if the Xmon itself contains the ability to, correctly (ie no phase or noise issues), sum in much the same way as a dedicated summing mixing (i.e Dangerous 2Bus LT) and would/does it give any sense of depth/seperation vs what spendy/'real' SM's apparently do (I've never used a summing mixer and have my doubts vs just using some good hardware on the mix bus or tracking with some nice pres/eqs/comps etc... I have very little issue with current ITB/PT summing quality but if Xmon can do this I just find it interesting )

cheers
__________________
Windows 10 | i7 8700k Coffee Lake 6 Core @ 5GHZ | PT12 HD | ICON D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-27-2018, 06:36 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 24
Default Re: D-Command Monitor Section Quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
audio snobs and PT/Avid haters have knocked the X-Mon since it came out for whatever that's worth.

I've used mine for 10 years and have made countless records with it and never had an issue with its quality.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-27-2018, 06:40 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 24
Default Re: D-Command Monitor Section Quality

i agree with Drew the xmon sounds really good and does the job if you want to use another control section its a personal choice you don't have to!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-28-2018, 03:58 PM
Jeezer Jeezer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: GB
Posts: 26
Default Re: D-Command Monitor Section Quality

Yeah, back when I had a different audio interface with a less decent headphone amp built in, I'm sure the on-board D-Command headphone socket was sounding more detailed and revealing vs the interface HP out.

The ICON Headphone socket feed, comes back up the control cable (that goes between D and Xmon), so it's sent internally from Xmon, tapping into I guess the same decent quality that your interface analog outs are sending into Xmon analog ins. It seems to just forward that to D-Command, not sure if the headphone amp is in the D or in the Xmon itself though, but will assume in the D not that it matters. So that xmon/D headphone amp that derives its signal from your (on some interfaces) better quality line outs vs the interface's built in HP socket appeared, from memory, to send a very clear signal back. And the HP amp itself appeared to be pretty decent.

I can't say it if sounds better than a separate high quality HP out on something like a Benchmark, Hilo or whatever but seems it's a non issue as far as passing decent audio through the unit.
__________________
Windows 10 | i7 8700k Coffee Lake 6 Core @ 5GHZ | PT12 HD | ICON D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-12-2018, 09:51 AM
francois francois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 798
Default Re: D-Command Monitor Section Quality

before switching to the Trinnov Dmon I used a pair of AES into a Lavry blue for my Mains .Still do for A/B comparaison
__________________
PT 2018.4 -HDX1- OSX 10.12--MacPro 12 core 3.46
64 Gig ram- D-command 24-Trinnov Dmon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command 8 monitor section is really noisy frnak ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 07-12-2011 05:24 PM
Quality of Command 8 monitor section with Digi 96? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-24-2010 11:04 PM
D Command Monitor section cutting out funkysax2002 ICON & C|24 1 05-03-2010 07:07 PM
Command 8 vs 002R monitor section NickH ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 12-12-2005 07:55 AM
Command |8 Talkback Section? swimfan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-20-2004 08:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com