Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2020, 03:30 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 830
Default Midi keyboard trouble

Hi,
Helping a friend.
We are both on PT 2018 HD Native Mac.

He just upgraded to 2018.
I have been there for a couple of years.

After he upgraded, his midi keyboard will not play through PT.
I tried on my end, and it was immediately recognized and an instrument track gets controlled by an M-Audio USB keyboard.

Identical setups, yet his will not pass midi control.
We are both simply creating an instrument track, instantiating "Mini-Grand".
We are both setting the input on the Inst track to KeyStation 88-port 1-all channels.
Mine fires up right away and I get levels on the meters and "Mini-Grand" plays fine.
His, after setting up the input, gets no levels in PT.
The midi info up on the transport shows what chords you are hacking out and all, but no levels or midi input on the inst. track.

Things we have tried:
We set up Audio Midi on the Mac identically.
The Keystation shows up fine.
When we test action in Audio Midi, it shows Midi action.

The keystation shows up as the input on the Inst track.
When I put the track in record, all works as expected.
When he does, nothing.

Last night, I had him trash prefs using PT Prefs.
He set up a test session with one inst track.
Yay! It started working.
Today, he created an inst track in a session, and the keyboard does't work.
We tried a few things, and no new tracks work with the keyboard.
Strangely enough, when he goes back the test session we created last night, it works.

Any ideas?
This is just stupid.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2020, 03:49 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,743
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Are the new tracks in record-ready? Check both systems to see that Preferences>Midi tab are both set the same
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2020, 04:24 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,283
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Check to make sure midi-thru is enabled and confirm the controller is set to active as an input device in Pro Tools.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2020, 05:33 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 830
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Hi,
Thanks.

Yes. Record ready.
Both systems.

Midi settings identical.

It appears that PT 2018 has some kind of glitch.
When I came back to my session that was working fine a few hours later, no Midi input, yet the Chord info next to the transport was working. (Just like his)

When I restart, everything is working again, but my friends sessions are not.

Again, identical machines and setups.

Any ideas appreciated.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2020, 05:35 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 830
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

My friend's system was working fine with PT 12.
Updated to 2018, and heartache.

(I have been on 2018 for a couple of years, and any time I plug in a Midi keyboard, it just works.)
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2020, 02:26 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 830
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Update of sorts...

We did a manual uninstall of PT 2018 on my friend's machine.
Re-downloaded PT 2018.
Created a test session with one instrument track. (Both mono and stereo)
Put Minigrand as the software instrument again.

Worked like a champ triggering from the M-Audio keyboard.

When we open an existing session and create an instrument track however, the keyboard does not work. (Again, the note/chord info up top is showing, but no levels into the track.

So far, it seems to be failing on older sessions. (5-7 years old)

Any ideas?
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2020, 02:41 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,082
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Sometimes instrument tracks lose their assignments, so have that visible on your mixer window and double-check that instrument track is configured properly
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2020, 03:45 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 830
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Thanks for the reply.

Yes. Everything configured properly.
It does not work after adding instrument/midi track to older sessions.
All is well in Mac Audio/Midi setup.
All is configured correctly in PT.
Strange thing is, the note and chord info is showing in the top middle of screen...So midi info IS getting into PT.
Just no input to the inst. track.

He got around the problem in a pinch by importing the tracks from the older sessions into the inst. track test session.
These are huge mixes though. Kind of a pain in the neck.

If someone using PT2018 has some time, would you mind creating an inst. track in a session created using PT12 or older and see if it works?

Thanks for your time.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2020, 12:43 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,311
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

I remember instrument tracks being unstable in PT10. Sometimes they'd work sometimes not, and I'd solve it simply by using a midi track and directing it to the instrument track or a aux. Does this workaround work on the problem sessions?

Perhaps you could import a instrument track from a fresh session into the old ones and see if that works. Just guessing.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2020, 03:15 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,249
Default Re: Midi keyboard trouble

Hi.
Try importing the working test session.
In edit-window show vertical instrument column.
Both new and imported track. Are the column destinations the same?

If so, try some other instrument or check version of minigrand plugin.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble with old midi keyboard and PT11 prodixmason General Discussion 3 05-06-2014 04:20 PM
Mac keyboard trouble in Protools Protoolsboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-10-2010 09:57 PM
Having trouble with Midi keyboard with PT8. scribble 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-12-2009 07:54 PM
trouble using keyboard as midi controller for GPO gordon Russell MIDI 6 12-23-2006 11:31 PM
Midi trouble w/Roland U20 keyboard? rooster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-31-2000 10:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com