Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2018, 12:20 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 620
Default Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

As Pro Tools Ultimate boasts old plugins access as if they're the latest and greatest, it got me to wondering. When was the last time Avid even launched a brand new plugin or VI? From my Googling the last time I believe was 2013, about 5 years ago.

Here's a few dates that come to mind:

2013 Pro Series plugins (example: pro compressor)
2011 Avid Channel Strip
2008 Bomb Factory plugins (example BF2a)
2005 Air Virtual Instruments (example mini grand)
2005 Air Plugins (example dverb)

Avid - what's in the pipeline for new plugin development either from you, from a company you're co-releasing with or purchased and rolled into Pro Tools from a third-party company?

Also, why not make all Avid plugins compatible with Waves Soundgrid? Why not purchase Slate Plugins and include them in Pro Tools? Or McDSP? Or Softube? Then you'd really have an Ultimate package eh?
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Mojave PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2018, 04:47 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

My 2 cents.

You want Avid making Pro Tools, not plugins, just like you want Softube making plugins not a DAW.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2018, 04:52 AM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 396
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

I’m with Drew.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl x.x.x · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 12C24T @3.46GHz · 48GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2018, 11:00 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,839
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

I for one would Love it if Softube made a DAW! Those guys are geniuses and would make the best DAW ever and maybe inolving PA in that venture

But Drew - I get what you are saying and agree with the setiment.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2018, 12:16 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Avid isn't exactly cash flush seeing as they keep teetering in the financials.

AIR plugins came from buying Wizoo and their team (Dverb existed before AIR)
Bomb Factory company was bought
Pro Series, to a large extent, were a port of the Euphonix developments after Avid bought Euphonix

The story of Waves and Avid and the change over to HDX is a big one and Avid went way beyond what people realize to try to keep Waves happy. Porting Avid plugs to Waves hardware only helps Waves sell more hardware. And costs Avid money (which they don't have.)

I'd rather Avid concentrate on the DAW and hardware. Leave plugins to others. If the DAW ecosystem is rich with potential customers, plugin developers will come.

But while I do get why a bunch of new users really want more free plugins -- I want a more robust DAW instead.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2018, 12:51 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,558
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Hi,


I always thought Avid are missing out on a potential huge income from plugins. Even the old one's could be sold better and offer deals. Waves are selling plugins today on offer that are over a decade old!! but they let Waves, PA and others offer deals and get the income.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2018, 01:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,511
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

What are you missing here? How many different EQ's you need? How many different compressors? How many different reverbs?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2018, 01:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,511
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Well actually, to answer to my own question, I'd like Avid to create a delay plugin that is actually musical and easy to use. Like Massey's for example.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2018, 03:58 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
I for one would Love it if Softube made a DAW! Those guys are geniuses and would make the best DAW ever and maybe inolving PA in that venture

But Drew - I get what you are saying and agree with the setiment.
Imagine the price of a DAW made by a company that charges 300 for an EQ!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2018, 04:14 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,839
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Imagine the price of a DAW made by a company that charges 300 for an EQ!
True but the Console1 mk2 is a fantastic unit and priced very good so maybe their daw would be a bit more than logic x however, PT isn't what I call cheap either
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you invest in HD3 PCIe today? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-18-2011 02:53 PM
Should I invest in Pro Tools? worldwidestudios Post - Surround - Video 18 08-31-2010 09:06 AM
What should i invest in next? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 03-23-2004 10:21 AM
should i invest into a control for pt??? KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 06-04-2002 06:16 AM
Invest in PRO-TOOLS now??? microphone General Discussion 16 06-08-2000 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com