Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2019, 02:16 AM
ThijsDeMelker's Avatar
ThijsDeMelker ThijsDeMelker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Amsterdam NL
Posts: 76
Default Different PT versions on 2 computers - 1 license possible

Hi all,


I want to buy a new laptop (just for recordings on location, no mixing/mastering/composing) and install the latest PT version 2019 @ windows10. And move my iLok dongle from my studio-PC to the laptop if needed.



I got a Perpetual Productlicense, Pro Tools | Ultimate Software Subscription.


The thing is:
I got a quite perfect setup working&rolling in my studio: PT 12.5HD/Windows7 as basis, including a lot of third party plugins (NI etc) and I don't want to change that for now.



Does anyone know what happens to my iLok subscription when I install Ultimate on the new laptop? I don't have a clue and can't find any news on that. If the subscition is updated to PT2019 I probably can't use 12.5HD at the PC any more (while moving the iLok dongle back)...is that a fact?


Can anyone help me out in this?
Thanks and bye
__________________
Eye4-PC / Windows7 Professional SP1 x64 / Intel Xeon 12core i7 / Nvidia GeForce GT 610 / Pro Tools HD 10.3.10 / Pro Tools HD 12.5.1 / 32GB RAM / Lynx Aurora 8

https://www.teejay.nl

https://twitter.com/teejay_studio

https://www.facebook.com/teejaystudio/

https://ac.avid.com/artistcommunity/...74#Profile-TAB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2019, 06:30 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 706
Default Re: Different PT versions on 2 computers - 1 license possible

Look at the license on your I Lok. Every current license will be supported so, no you dont need to update your old system or even put 2019.6 on the new laptop if you don't want to. IOW you can install whatever version to the laptop that will work, it doesn't have to be the current version, just licensed on you ilok
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2019, 06:41 AM
ThijsDeMelker's Avatar
ThijsDeMelker ThijsDeMelker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Amsterdam NL
Posts: 76
Default Re: Different PT versions on 2 computers - 1 license possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64GTOBOY View Post
Look at the license on your I Lok. Every current license will be supported so, no you dont need to update your old system or even put 2019.6 on the new laptop if you don't want to. IOW you can install whatever version to the laptop that will work, it doesn't have to be the current version, just licensed on you ilok

Thanks for replying!
I want the newest (Ultimate) version on the laptop, and keep working with 12.5.1 on the PC/studio, with the same iLok-dongle.

All the licenses are there PT10-12HD and PT 'Perpetual' + PT 'Ultimate Perpetual', so I guess you're right
see att


Thnks/bye
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PT_lic.jpg (42.2 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Eye4-PC / Windows7 Professional SP1 x64 / Intel Xeon 12core i7 / Nvidia GeForce GT 610 / Pro Tools HD 10.3.10 / Pro Tools HD 12.5.1 / 32GB RAM / Lynx Aurora 8

https://www.teejay.nl

https://twitter.com/teejay_studio

https://www.facebook.com/teejaystudio/

https://ac.avid.com/artistcommunity/...74#Profile-TAB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about license keys and old versions new2mbox2 Windows 13 02-23-2014 10:15 PM
With one license, can I install Pro Tools 11 HD on two computers, one not HD? boxedin Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 12-26-2013 03:34 PM
Multiple Computers/versions cymbaline Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-30-2009 04:24 PM
Multiple versions (7.3 + 7.4) from the same license/iLok? tnjazz Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-06-2008 01:19 AM
License on 2 computers??? beergeek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-13-2006 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com