Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:05 AM
fabiopenagoli fabiopenagoli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Firenze
Posts: 1
Default Using MBox 3 Pro as External Effect Processor

Hi to all!

I'm new to my Pro Tools 10 + MBox 3 Pro.

I have a JMP-1 Pre-Amp for Guitar and I would to use the Plug-ins of Pro Tools to make a SEND - RETURN effect processor (like a Compressor or others) before output to the Cabinet.

I connected the Send output of the Pre-Amp to the Insert 1 of the MBox 3 but I receive the message that the "output path is already in use".
I connected also the 3-4 Output of the Mbox to the Effect RETURNS of the Pre-Amp.
The Pre-Amp outputs are connected to the Input 1-2 of the Mbox to record.

I would to do this: Pre-Amp SEND -> Mbox Insert 1 -> AUX Track with plugins -> Mbox Output 3-4 -> Pre-Amp EFFECT Returns

Is it possible?

I think that I'm confused and I don't know if I can do it.

Anyone can help me?

Thanks so much!

Fabio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2012, 12:16 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Using MBox 3 Pro as External Effect Processor

To connect outboard gear like the reverb unit I have, I take analog outs 1&2 and plug them to the inputs of the reverb unit and out the reverb into line in on back of the mbox.then in pro tools I use a send to route the signal prefader to the unit and to hear the wet signal come back to pro tools I create an aux to mix both the dry and wet signal together in my mix. It may not be similar to what you want to do but this can probably give you an idea of how to route signal in and out. One more thing, the track with the signal I want to effect,lets say a guitar track, I use one of the sends on that track and route the outputs to 1&2, and on the aux track I created I set the input to 1&2 and push the button on the front panel of the mbox to rear,to activate the line in on the back of the mbox. Just thought I should make that a bit more clear. The reason why your getting that message about I/o already being used is because pro tools defaults analogs 1&2 as the main outs of your interface, to work around this you need to go into the I/o setup within pro tools and change the outputs to something else, choose the outputs tab and on the bottom of the signal flow chart change both boxes to a different default output, I think 1 of the boxes says audition the other main outputs, I cant remember but do it for both stereo and mono you may also need to open up the control panel for the mbox that was installed along with the drivers and turn up any faders that corredpond to the I/os your trying to set for your sends and returns
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Vocal Effect Processor? jmbtexas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-26-2012 08:32 PM
using MBox 2 with external effects processor ? MH2006 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-14-2006 01:13 PM
Using an external effect processor on M-Audio 1814 Henx Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 10 02-07-2006 07:16 PM
Using external effect Frans G 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-24-2004 08:53 PM
Can you insert a physical effect processor on Signal path Soundboy99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-07-2001 02:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com