Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2009, 01:14 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Dolby E into a QT Mov File?

Anyone have luck getting a Neyrinck Created Dolby E stream to work in a QT .mov file w/ ProRes Codec?


Tx,

Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:42 PM
infiniteloop infiniteloop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
Default Re: Dolby E into a QT Mov File?

I can't imagine why that would work all that well. I'm sure it could be embedded but what players could decode it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2009, 07:28 AM
Sonsey Sonsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 500
Default Re: Dolby E into a QT Mov File?

Perhaps the idea being to send it to FCP with the Dolby E Encoded for layback to HDCAM? In THEORY this would work, since the audio track on a Quicktime Movie can be 24/48 PCM. However, FCP could cause ALL sorts of nasties on playback, as it really doesn't do a good job of straight playout - it's almost always doing SOMETHING to the audio (level, dither, sr conversion), even without your knowing it - which as we all know, toasts a Dolby E stream. I think some folks have done a successful playout of Dolby E via FCP, but we certainly haven't managed it here.
__________________
"Ya canna change the laws of physics..."
-Montgomery Scott

Howard Sonnenburg
Atomic Audio
Ottawa, ON
Canada
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2009, 08:41 AM
bernhard bernhard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Dolby E into a QT Mov File?

In theory, Dolby E in a QT movie should work.
The problems occur more in the context in which Quicktime is used:
Onboard sound often adds SRC or volume change. FCP is tricky, also.
Audio synchronisation and playback has to be frame accurate ...
good luck,

Bernhard

www.DolbyMastering.com

-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Media Producer Suite vs. Dolby LM100 TylerJohnson Post - Surround - Video 4 06-04-2012 03:41 PM
'save a copy as' damaged a file - file repair advice? Artysan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-26-2011 07:14 PM
Dolby E file-based workflow KingTor Post - Surround - Video 8 01-06-2011 11:28 AM
DTS, Dolby Digital and Dolby E with Paul Neyrinck Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 4 05-08-2009 05:32 PM
Dolby E and Dolby Media Meter Newbie Questions AudioPostChris Post - Surround - Video 4 02-08-2009 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com