Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-24-2016, 02:04 PM
bernhard bernhard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

I'm looking for an alternative for LoAir
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-25-2016, 01:16 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Exactly! The Pro Subharmonics followed by the Lowender are much better alternatives to LoAir.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.10 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-25-2016, 09:45 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Why to use both?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-25-2016, 09:47 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,705
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

I think he was rating the two, and not suggesting to use both at the same time
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-25-2016, 09:49 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Ah hehe, stand corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-25-2016, 01:39 PM
bernhard bernhard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Lowender is perfect to create the DBX120A style Cinema Subwoofer sound.
But I prefer Lo Air for stuff like pimping up a Car Door. It sounds more natural to me.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-25-2016, 02:39 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad jitter View Post
Why to use both?
No, I don't suggest to use both. I meant that I prefer the APS and the Lowender is my second choice.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.10 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-26-2016, 09:35 AM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 866
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

I try to stay away from anything ilok.
Because I kve around a lot, I need to be able to have all of my plugins available to the studio, in case I'm mixing, and a fix needs to be done.

This was in fact a pre-requisite on Legends of Tomorrow.
We mix it in the same studio that that they are mixing Supergirl and The Flash. And I was asked to make sure they could open the mixes and do fixes if I was tied up elsewhere.
Hence the reason I use lowender.

The only ilok plugin I use is Halo.
And I bought 2 licenses to have a floater iLok.
One will stay at the one studio until we are finished with Legends of Tomorrow.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-26-2016, 06:16 PM
yazoo yazoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Mark,

How does that work with your UAD plugins?

Regards
Benny
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-26-2016, 07:42 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,705
Default Re: Cut the cord with Waves

Satellite
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Y-cord = loss of fidelity? jlcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 01-14-2006 01:23 PM
002r power cord? scottedog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-21-2004 10:34 PM
LONGER DIGI 001 CORD!!! romancindastone General Discussion 2 04-23-2004 01:15 AM
CORD PROBLEMS? coleslaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-03-2002 12:33 PM
CORD PROBLEMS! coleslaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 12-13-2001 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com