Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:47 PM
DiegoFox DiegoFox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Default Factors contributing to static noise

I am still not sure about the factors contributing to static noise I get while recording acoustic stuff on the Mbox 2. Could these be:

-MbookPro fan (is getting noisy, and kicks in even when CPU is at 5%)
-USB cable
-microphone cables
-mics too close to each other
-wrong PT version (8.0.4, but had these problems with 8.0.3 too)
???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2011, 05:52 AM
radkins radkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 15
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

What kind of static? Can you post a sample?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2011, 08:58 AM
DiegoFox DiegoFox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by radkins View Post
What kind of static? Can you post a sample?
It is like a distant hum in the background. Around 50 Hz, continuous, audible only during resting in music. Can files be posted here ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2011, 02:41 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

You could do with describing your setup a bit more.

Are you using the USB cable that came with the MBox, they're grey with a little ferrite module on them which stops crosstalk etc.

What about the mic and mic cable, i'm assuming an XLR is being used.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2011, 04:57 PM
DiegoFox DiegoFox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
You could do with describing your setup a bit more.

Are you using the USB cable that came with the MBox, they're grey with a little ferrite module on them which stops crosstalk etc.

What about the mic and mic cable, i'm assuming an XLR is being used.

Yes I am using the USB that came with the Mbox2, and XLR cables I bought at the Guitar center.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2011, 08:51 AM
DiegoFox DiegoFox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

Would I maybe be better off with phantom powered mics?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:08 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

What sore of mic are you using?

Bare in mind dynamic mics with acoustic guitars, vocals etc will need the preamp on an MBox2 to be cranked high, is it possible that the preamp is up full and your hearing noise from it?

A condenser mic would be a good choice for these applications.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2011, 03:20 PM
DiegoFox DiegoFox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
What sore of mic are you using?

Bare in mind dynamic mics with acoustic guitars, vocals etc will need the preamp on an MBox2 to be cranked high, is it possible that the preamp is up full and your hearing noise from it?

A condenser mic would be a good choice for these applications.
I use SM57. Would I really need a preamp and which?
Are there acceptable mics around which wouldn't need a preamp - maybe these would be a better investment?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2011, 07:49 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

SM57's work well with high output sources like snare drums, guitar cabs etc but you need a lot of gain for quiet sources.

There are a lot of great budget mics out there. IMHO you can't really go wrong with Rode. If you want something for vocals and guita then an NT1 would be a good starting point. The NT2 is much nicer but pricier. Rode now have some budget condensers but i cannot comment on them because i have never used them.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2011, 08:18 PM
DiegoFox DiegoFox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Default Re: Factors contributing to static noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
What sore of mic are you using?

Bare in mind dynamic mics with acoustic guitars, vocals etc will need the preamp on an MBox2 to be cranked high, is it possible that the preamp is up full and your hearing noise from it?

A condenser mic would be a good choice for these applications.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
SM57's work well with high output sources like snare drums, guitar cabs etc but you need a lot of gain for quiet sources.

There are a lot of great budget mics out there. IMHO you can't really go wrong with Rode. If you want something for vocals and guita then an NT1 would be a good starting point. The NT2 is much nicer but pricier. Rode now have some budget condensers but i cannot comment on them because i have never used them.
Thx for the opinion.

I'd try NT1 then.

I was happy when recording some fingerpicked jazz solos with a pair of Shures (sound was great, appart from occasional noise). If I get a single NT1, would it be possible to make stereo (i.e. recording to two tracks with one mic - may be a dumb question ).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static noise DiegoFox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-28-2011 03:00 PM
low static noise in PT 8 fixitinthemix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-30-2010 10:44 AM
Static noise (aka White noise ) During playback. =/ PoPimp3069 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-23-2010 04:06 PM
7.3.1 - static noise after using for a while dcrann11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-21-2007 06:11 PM
playback static noise QuikDraw Tips & Tricks 2 02-22-2003 12:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com