Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2013, 06:00 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,032
Default 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

What's up guys. Just got a 2009 Mac Pro 4,1; specs in my sig. The performance on this thing isn't really up to par at all with my other Macs nor the PC it replaced. I'm hoping someone can give some tips.

Some of the issues I'm having is slowness for one. It boots up lightning fast and everything feels snappy. When browsing the internet (please don't mention having internet on a DAW machine), everything is fast. But once I start installing something in the background or transfer some files, the internet loading is dramatically decreased, with both Chrome and Safari. Once background tasks are done, internet speed is normal.

Another issue is I've done some quick Pro Tools testing and I got some popping and clicks at 64MB at one point on a small session with less than to plugins. Also got a cpu overload error once. And the meters seem a bit sluggish.

Lastly, while trying to install Komplete 9 from the DVD's, the install always fails around disk G or H, which takes almost 2 hours just to get to. I've used these disks to install on my iMac and a couple times on my PC and never had a single failed install. The Mac Pro even had a couple failed installs while installing a couple plugins, which eventually went through successfully on the second install.

Other than these issues, everything seems fine. I did a fresh install of Mountain Lion 10.8.4 as soon as I got it. I also tried disabling Spotlight for all harddrives except the os drive. This didn't make any difference. My custom built PC specs are below and so far the Mac Pro doesn't perform as well. My iMac also performs flawlessly with several background tasks running AND multiple users signed onto the computer. So I'd think a computer with 8 cores and 32GB ram would be ridiculous.

I'm wondering if I could have defective RAM or just Google Chrome acting up?! Any ideas?


Old PC Specs - Custom Mid Tower - Q6600 Quad OC'ed to 3.4GHz - Windows 7 Pro x64 - EP45T-UD3LR Motherboard - - ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series 512MB DDR2 - Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler - 16GB G. Skill DDR3 1333 RAM
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2013, 06:25 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,696
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

I don't think Mac's in general feel as snappy as a super charged win machine but are really stable workhorses

I would check the ram and make sure it's all the same speed and hopefully the same brand

SSD's installed? Sata6gb spinners? What's the graphics card like? Is it upgrade able ? Since u said ur graphics is lagging
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2013, 06:33 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I don't think Mac's in general feel as snappy as a super charged win machine but are really stable workhorses

I would check the ram and make sure it's all the same speed and hopefully the same brand

SSD's installed? Sata6gb spinners? What's the graphics card like? Is it upgrade able ? Since u said ur graphics is lagging
My iMac is SUPER snappy though, although it's a 2013 model. The ram on the Mac Pro is all the exact same. 1066MHz OWC brand.

No SSD's, but I also don't have any on my other computers.

The graphics is the stock one. It's the NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3 and I'm running two 22" 1080p screens off it. It is upgradable, but I would think it's fine compared to the ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series 512MB DDR2 in my PC.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2013, 06:49 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,321
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
My iMac is SUPER snappy though, although it's a 2013 model. The ram on the Mac Pro is all the exact same. 1066MHz OWC brand.

No SSD's, but I also don't have any on my other computers.

The graphics is the stock one. It's the NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3 and I'm running two 22" 1080p screens off it. It is upgradable, but I would think it's fine compared to the ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series 512MB DDR2 in my PC.
Have you tried to disconnect one of the monitors and see what gives!?
We hade a similar issue with our Mac Pro Quad 2.66Ghz and after screwing around with the graphics PT ran great. The mac ran perfect with one monitor and after that We swapped out the graphic card and now it is awesome again.
Also Imdon't think PT loves 1080i resolution with less than 1GB graphics.
Just a sugestion and maybe worth looking into.

Best Regards
Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2013, 06:53 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Have you tried to disconnect one of the monitors and see what gives!?
We hade a similar issue with our Mac Pro Quad 2.66Ghz and after screwing around with the graphics PT ran great. The mac ran perfect with one monitor and after that We swapped out the graphic card and now it is awesome again.
Also Imdon't think PT loves 1080i resolution with less than 1GB graphics.
Just a sugestion and maybe worth looking into.

Best Regards
Chris
I'll give it a shot. What graphics card would you recommend for running dual screens on the Mac? I've been using the ATI with the PC since 2008 and never had any issues with PT graphics-wise. Same screens too.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2013, 07:24 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,321
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
I'll give it a shot. What graphics card would you recommend for running dual screens on the Mac? I've been using the ATI with the PC since 2008 and never had any issues with PT graphics-wise. Same screens too.
We used the Nvidia Geforce 8800GT for dual screens and it is working perfectly

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desk...specifications

It doesn't break the bank either as I believe we paid less than $179 and maybe you can get one cheaper second hand or a similar card to your liking.

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2013, 07:55 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
We used the Nvidia Geforce 8800GT for dual screens and it is working perfectly

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desk...specifications

It doesn't break the bank either as I believe we paid less than $179 and maybe you can get one cheaper second hand or a similar card to your liking.

Christopher
Hmmm, that card seems to actually be older than the one I have. I just found current drivers for my graphics card. Gonna try that before spending another dime! Another thing I think would help may be just adding a second graphics card of the one I already have. They're pretty cheap!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2013, 09:40 PM
koban4max koban4max is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: LA
Posts: 14
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

how about radeon 5770?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2013, 09:42 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by koban4max View Post
how about radeon 5770?
I was looking at it, but kinda skeptical since Apple doesn't officially support it with models 2009 and older. They support the 5870 but it's twice the price!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2013, 09:46 PM
koban4max koban4max is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: LA
Posts: 14
Default Re: 2009 Mac Pro 8-Core performs disappointing! Any tips?

I have EXACT mac pro of yours. I do have radeon 5770. (correction: i have quad core) Anyway, i have logic pro for mac...and it's great... i don't have any problems with it. I'm just giving you my testimony.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.3.3/Lion/2009 8 core. Experience is sluggish tribase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 03-04-2013 09:05 PM
Which Mac Pro for HD Native? 2008 8 Core or 2009 Quad Core? sws2h Pro Tools 10 6 11-03-2011 04:23 PM
2009 Quad or 2009 8-Core Nehalem? psmworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-08-2010 04:18 AM
Mac Pro (2009) Quad or 8 Core? davidman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-04-2009 09:34 AM
002r with macbook core duo performs worse than mbox2... Tommy Fobia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-14-2007 05:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com