Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:49 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 503
Default dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

so,

perhaps it's because I am so used to working in HD,
but I am finding that mixing on my LE system (iMac 2 core, 4gig, 10.5.8, PT 8.0.1) I seem to hit the system wall way too quickly.
Way more quickly, at least, than I suppose I EXPECT to.


am I just expecting too much from ANY LE system? from the iMac?


how many implementations of third party plug ins are you guys finding you can run?
I find that perhaps 6 or so URS EQs and or compressors (for example) is enough to cause the system to lock up even at the highest HW buffer setting
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:00 AM
Pure Audio Pure Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

I found that once I ditched Apples built in Fw bus my system drastically improved stability, I believe it was a communication problem for me.

Before this significant change there were a few things I learned to help prevent falling over.

1) - Turn Spotlight off.
2) - Turn all Mac osx perks off (like shadow on boxes etc.)
3) - Never implement a plugin during playback. (sure way to crash a system in LE, normal fare in HD)
4) - Never use 003 with something else connected via FW. (I found drastic increases in buffer issues on my Mac pro when I had a FW harddrive or Powercore attached)
5) - Make sure you've got the latest Plugin versions

hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:28 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 503
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Audio View Post
I found that once I ditched Apples built in Fw bus my system drastically improved stability, I believe it was a communication problem for me.
can you elaborate on that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:29 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 503
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Audio View Post
1) - Turn Spotlight off.
2) - Turn all Mac osx perks off (like shadow on boxes etc.).
come to think of it, can you elaborate on these too?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:38 PM
skabuddah skabuddah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida keys
Posts: 16
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

Not to sound stupid but doesn't DiGi tell us to use an external drive As far as i can tell FW is the connection ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2010, 10:10 AM
Concerttom Concerttom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 120
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Audio View Post
Never use 003 with something else connected via FW.

Uh, no -- you've got to record to a drive separate from your system drive, and unless you've got a separate internal one, you have to record to an external HD via FireWire.
__________________
MacBook Pro, OS 10.6.2, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.6 GHz, 4 GB Memory, 003 Factory, PT LE 8.0.3, G-Tech G DRIVE Q 1TB HD

-------------------------------------------

'Wave of the future, Dude. One hundred percent electronic.' -- J. Treehorn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2010, 01:29 PM
aeongrey aeongrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
come to think of it, can you elaborate on these too?
Spotlight is a MAC search feature, top right corner of the screen. Turning both of these off should be in the system settings.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2010, 12:37 AM
mikebeck mikebeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
so,

perhaps it's because I am so used to working in HD,
but I am finding that mixing on my LE system (iMac 2 core, 4gig, 10.5.8, PT 8.0.1) I seem to hit the system wall way too quickly.
Way more quickly, at least, than I suppose I EXPECT to.


am I just expecting too much from ANY LE system? from the iMac?


how many implementations of third party plug ins are you guys finding you can run?
I find that perhaps 6 or so URS EQs and or compressors (for example) is enough to cause the system to lock up even at the highest HW buffer setting
I'm running PT8 on a Macbook Pro with very similar specs to your iMac, and I'm thinking there must be something wrong; I know I can run plenty more URS plugins than that, especially at the highest buffer setting. I'm using an MBox2 and two external firewire drives (one for samples, one for recording).
When I first installed PT8, I did have some issues with lockups and buffers, but I pared down the plugins, updated some others, did the recommended troubleshooting (deleting PT databases, etc.), and it ran great after that. I can't keep many amp sims active without bouncing, so I just prefer to commit to a sound and record wet through an aux to an audio track now, using Eleven LE and the Amplitube 2 series. I frequently use PT8 to record drum MIDI with BFD2 and Toontrack Superior 2 at low buffer settings, and those two are fairly resource-intensive.
I'd suspect an incompatible plugin or plugins to start with.
I've mixed numerous 24+ track sessions with plugins on every track without even using the highest buffer setting.
It's been over a year, so I can't quite remember, but I think that it was probably some of the included LE versions of third-party plugins that came with my initial install of PT7 that were out of date when I upgraded to PT8 soon after installing PT7.
I'll have to check the version, but I haven't updated PT8 to the latest release, and haven't updated for a long time; we might be running the same version.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:28 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 503
Default Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

interesting

I'm fairly sure I'm not running anything out of date,
in fact, other than the aforementioned URS it's mostly included Digi and AIR plug ins

oh, and IK reverb

I HAVE done all of the recommended 'troubleshooting' as far as I know
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2010, 11:02 PM
ankely ankely is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away...
Posts: 359
Cool Re: dreaded HW Buffer size crashes

How many RTAS Processors do you have turned on?

Reduce it to one. See if that helps.

See pg 43, Chapter 5: System Setup, in the Pro Tools Reference Guide.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.9, MBP 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo OS 10.6.8 4GB/Ram, 7200RPM 750GB Internal HD, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Digidesign Mbox 2.

It is what it is...

ScrewMakerMusic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The dreaded H/W Buffer Size (Error 9092) message... benwplj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-05-2011 01:43 PM
Optimizing PT9 to avoid dreaded buffer error livexfast macOS 6 01-14-2011 02:46 PM
The dreaded decrease/increase buffer error message hnbike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-01-2009 12:15 PM
Increase Buffer size/Decrease Buffer size? kerick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-28-2006 01:00 AM
Increase buffer size...decrease buffer size.... Bodhisan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-08-2005 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com