Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2009, 07:23 AM
DJRECORDS DJRECORDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Default Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

Hi Everyone,

Been trying out waveburner in logic studio 9 and we can export to DDP and we get a folder with 5 files in..

audio.dat
cdtext.bin
DDPID
DDPMS
Subcodes.dat

So would we just send this folder to the duplication place and thats it? we've got no way to open the files and check.

We were expecting just one file? like a .img sort of thing but a .ddp but we got this folder with no file extension. i assume we just zip this folder and send it?

we get all the tracks mastered in Pro Tools and then usually make a CD with Toast or Jam with the codes etc and send the disk in, but there's an option to upload a ddp file.

Thanks

Jez
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2009, 09:49 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,821
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

Correct, all of the files in the folder comprise the DDP set. Zip it and email.

BTW, Sonic Studio has available a DDP player which will open a DDP set and even allow you to burn CDs from it. It's a GREAT way to email work to a client for approval without the need of sending crappy sounding MP3s.

Info can be found at http://www.sonicstudio.com/products/sddp/sddp.html
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2009, 09:52 AM
Kevin Nettleingham Kevin Nettleingham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Vancouver, Washington USA
Posts: 182
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

I have used WaveBurner for years and recently updated to the latest version specifically for the DDP export. Every DDP file I sent to the plant has had problems with the CD-TEXT data. No more DDP files for me from WaveBurner.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2009, 11:02 AM
muesli muesli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 56
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

i agree - i have had serveral problems with waveburner over 6 years now!
i suggest not to use this program!
__________________
MacPro 12-Core, 48 GB RAM, OS X.9.5, PT 12.3.1 HDX, Avid HD I/O 16x16
http://kochuniversalstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2009, 12:47 PM
peter99 peter99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

sh...t... I bought waveburner for DPP export
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2009, 01:25 PM
spicemix spicemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 771
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Nettleingham View Post
I have used WaveBurner for years and recently updated to the latest version specifically for the DDP export. Every DDP file I sent to the plant has had problems with the CD-TEXT data. No more DDP files for me from WaveBurner.
Afaik, some replicators have DDP reading software which is too sensitive to CD-TEXT issues for its own good. The recommendation is those replicators upgrade their software, but of course, that can be hard to get done. This happens with other DDP writers with CD-TEXT too, especially for foreign language text.

You can just send them red book. I'm not sure there is a net certainty benefit from DDP.
__________________
Peter Jensen
spicemix
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2009, 01:38 PM
peter99 peter99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

well... the place I usually send my masters only accept DDP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2009, 01:44 PM
spicemix spicemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 771
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter99 View Post
well... the place I usually send my masters only accept DDP
They probably have the CD-TEXT issues worked out then, or can work with you on it. Waveburner was just updated a couple days ago.
__________________
Peter Jensen
spicemix
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2009, 02:39 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,821
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter99 View Post
well... the place I usually send my masters only accept DDP
Then you guys, OBVIOUSLY, need to use some other software for CD mastering!! Have any of you ever looked at PMCD or soundBlade? Sonic was the ORIGINAL CD authoring software back in the early 90s. They know how to do DDP.

Info at http://www.sonicstudio.com/

(I've been a happy user for many years)
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-07-2009, 03:44 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,153
Default Re: Is Waveburner ok for DDP files? how can you test them!

Another option on the Mac:

Wave Editor ($79 - I believe you can demo)
http://www.audiofile-engineering.com/waveeditor/

If you like working with an object based approach, it's a pretty great program; but most importantly it does solid DDP 2.0 files.

On the PC I'd go with Sonoris' DDP Creator (I use it to convert Wavelab images to DDP)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waveburner 1.5 Anibal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-18-2007 09:35 PM
waveburner songman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 06-24-2006 01:50 AM
Logic Audio/Waveburner files on OSX?? Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-22-2003 10:44 AM
Is anyone using Waveburner Pro,? toecat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-13-2001 02:07 PM
Waveburner smog90 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-29-2001 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com