Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 08-15-2008, 05:40 AM

Default Drum Editing

Hi,

I have just started my first major drum editing job (for a self produced album) Im completely new to the idea of drum editing and would love any tips tricks people use.

So far all i really do is align kick and snares with the click..and put crossfades in to smooth them over. What other tools can i use? are there any tools that lengthen a drums hit? or shorten?

Also as far as spill goes is it beneficial to edit out all the spills manually or use strip silence. For some tracks i can use a gate...but for others i need to isolate the tom hit and use gain to get a decent level.

Any tricks/tools in this area would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,

Luke K
Old 08-15-2008, 06:03 AM

Default DigiDesign TV

DigiDesign TV have some good tricks on drumediting.
It's under the section of ProTools 7.4 (chapter 6,7 and 8).

God luck!
Old 08-15-2008, 06:06 AM

Make an edit group and edit all drum tracks together to avoid phase issues. The only tracks I sometimes edit out spill from are the toms. I'm not too fond of how the tom mics affects the snare sound, so I use gates or edit the tom regions manually with tab to transient.

The transient designer from Sonalksis is capable of changing the attack, length and timbre of drums. It's included with Superior 2.0 from Toontrack. Don't know if it's available separately.
Old 08-15-2008, 06:07 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainman View Post
DigiDesign TV have some good tricks on drumediting.
It's under the section of ProTools 7.4 (chapter 6,7 and 8).

God luck!

Wow never heard of didgidesign tv before..looks great...thanks!
Old 08-15-2008, 06:08 AM

Quote: