Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-06-2018, 07:23 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,014
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64GTOBOY View Post
Oops, echoed albee
But, well worth repeating.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-06-2018, 03:22 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

When I brought in my wife's desktop computer to the computer shop a couple of months ago, I handed this new 525 GB SSD to the tech and asked him to install it as my D: Drive I was going to have Pro Tools program on the C: Drive and save all of my PT sessions audio to the 525 GB SSD as the D: drive.

But he assured me that it would make much more sense to install the SSD as the C: Drive and move the 1 TB hardrive down into the D: Drive (Data)

Now I'm wondering if he might have steered me wrong. I hope not!

I just checked my computer and pretty much all programs including PT12 are stored on the SSD C: Drive and nothing much is on the 1 TB D: Drive

My PT audio files are all being saved on the C: drive, am I ok to leave it like that or should I send this stuff over to the 1 TB drive?

Last edited by Burstbucker; 01-07-2018 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-06-2018, 03:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burstbucker View Post
When I brought in my wife's desktop computer to the computer shop a couple of months ago, I handed this new 525 GB SSD to the tech and asked him to install it as my D: Drive I was going to have Pro Tools program on the C: Drive and save all of my PT sessions audio to the 525 GB SSD as the D: drive.

But he assured me that it would make much more sense to install the SSD as the C: Drive and move the 1 TB hardrive down into the D: Drive (Data)

Now I'm wondering if he might have steered me wrong. I hope not!

I just checked my computer and pretty much all programs including PT12 are stored on the SSD C: Drive and nothing much is on the 1 TB D: Drive

My PT audio files are all being saved on the Crive, am I ok to leave it like that or should I send this stuff over to the 1 TB drive?
This depends on the 1TB drive and its rpm. As long as its 7200 rpm(and not any sort of "green" drive), my preference with a spinner and an SSD is to use the SSD as the system drive(for snappier performance across the board) and record to a 7200 RPM spinner(it takes a huge number of tracks to choke a good 7200 rpm recording drive). In a perfect world, I would use SSD's for everything, but the economics prevent that(a 2TB spinner costs less than a 512GB SSD). Both sides of this argument have merit and I can only give my 2 cents

Oh, and yes, I WOULD move all your sessions over to your dedicated recording drive

Last cent's worth, on a 2-drive system, sample libraries belong on the C: drive
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-06-2018, 04:00 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

That is good to know. Thank you for helping me out with this!

I will have to try to figure out what the speed of this spinner hard drive is.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-06-2018, 04:31 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 738
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Google the specs for the PC , it should tell you. In the properties tab of each hard drive(right click menu) you should be able to find the hard drive model if your PC had different configurations available when sold.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-06-2018, 04:52 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,187
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Go to piriform.com and download the free version of Speccy. It will give you the model and serial number of all your drives, their temperatures and SMART health as well as other information on the drives and all the other hardware in your computer.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:02 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burstbucker View Post
And Pro Tools reverb plug-in on most tracks.
Do you mean you have the reverb plugin inserted on most tracks? You could save more system resources by having just a few reverbs inserted on auxes and using sends and returns. I rarely use more than 2 or 3 different reverbs in a session, and use aux sends on the tracks to control how much I need. Though one might occasionally want to insert a reverb directly on a track, most engineers will use sends instead of inserts.
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:51 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

I am using sends from various tracks to a master reverb track.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-06-2018, 06:09 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Why are we three pages in something that sounds like a possible memory leak, and troubleshooting (described under help us help you up the top of each DUC page) of looking for memory leaks by temporarily removing plugin files should have been done... before posting here. Memory consumption has nothing to do with disk hardware setups or the errors reported, so I'm not sure why we are there. Look squirrel...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-06-2018, 06:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: PT crashing despite having 24 GB of RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jryser View Post
And why can one NOT adjust this in PT11 vanilla? So frustrating.
Because Pro Tools 11 (non HD) does not have disk cache. One of the big HD features given to Pro Tools standard users in Pro Tools 12.

Next question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing, crashing and crashing. Bullseye Pro Tools 12 3 05-16-2017 05:40 PM
8.03 keeps crashing- HELP ! barlevy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-23-2009 12:48 PM
PT LE 7 Crashing cheekypaul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 11-17-2005 01:26 AM
Why does it keep crashing? thegoodone Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 03-15-2001 05:16 PM
Crashing-Help Hajam Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 03-02-2001 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com