Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2012, 01:42 PM
_Nexo_ _Nexo_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Default Problems with 3x888 24

Hi everyone, hope that someone can help me with a little thing i have.

Just set up my three interfaces with my mac that has 2 Mix farm and one mix core card.

However, i can only get 16 I/O
No matter what i do.

Three interfaces, each connected to one card, bnc cable for sync between 1-2, 2-3.

Also tried to connect two interfaces to the Mix core and one to one of the Mix Farm.

What is wrong?

Tried to change cables already but it just won´t work.

Please, can someone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2012, 09:07 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Problems with 3x888 24

Quote:
Three interfaces, each connected to one card, bnc cable for sync between 1-2, 2-3.

Also tried to connect two interfaces to the Mix core and one to one of the Mix Farm.
so you always see 1 & 2 or some other combination?
if you leave the cables and rotate the 888s what happens?

look very closely at the pins of the cables, they are very, (I mean vary) easy to bend
but you may have a bad 888

In some version of the software you had to tell the software that you had more 888s hooked up, what version are you running?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2012, 10:33 PM
_Nexo_ _Nexo_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Default Re: Problems with 3x888 24

There are two diffferent combinations:

A - B
A - C

I´m running Protools 6.4.1

Is there any way to assign the interfaces to a specific card?

Thanks in advance =)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2012, 11:40 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,367
Default Re: Problems with 3x888 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Nexo_ View Post
Is there any way to assign the interfaces to a specific card?

Thanks in advance =)
Yes. If you're not sure how to do that I'm guessing that's your problem.

Been a while since I've had a mix system, but I believe you need to go to setups -> playback engine. There should be menus where you select the cards and the type of interface attached to them.

Each card has an A and a B port, if you are using a Y cable, you'd use both the A and B ports of that card. If not, you would only use the A port of each card that had a connected interface.

So your setup could either be:

Mix card 1 - interface port A - 888/24 #1
Mix card 1 - interface port B - 888/24 #2
Mix card 2 - interface port A - 888/24 #3
Mix card 2 - interface port B - no interface
Mix card 3 - interface port A - no interface
Mix card 3 - interface port B - no interface

... Where you had a Y cable on the first mix card....

OR...

Mix card 1 - interface port A - 888/24 #1
Mix card 1 - interface port B - no interface
Mix card 2 - interface port A - 888/24 #2
Mix card 2 - interface port B - no interface
Mix card 3 - interface port A - 888/24 #3
Mix card 3 - interface port B - no interface

Where you had each 888 connected to a separate mix card.

Either way, you need to tell pro tools how it's hooked up via the playback engine dialogue.

You may also need to go to i/o setup and click on "default" to make the correct i/o paths show up as available inputs and outputs in pro tools.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2012, 09:32 PM
milesofwire milesofwire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 445
Default Re: Problems with 3x888 24

Yes, you need to go to Setup, Playback Engine, and activate the I/O points, keep in mind the it does take some of your DSP power to run more I/O's, using a Y cable keeps pairs of I/O's on a single chip.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2012, 01:27 AM
_Nexo_ _Nexo_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Default

I'm not sure what the original problem was.

I disconnected the whole system, removed the cards form the mac and then putted everything back as it was when i bought it a month ago.

Now it works like a charm!

Payed 5000 SEK ( $720) for three 888 24 interfaces, Mac G4 complete with 1 x Core, 2 x Farm, Over 30plugins (Waves 5.0 Ampfarm etc etc, one bananabox with cables, Extra pci cards for expanssion chassi and some other juicy stuff!

Its rocksolid and dirtcheap!
Couldnt be happier!

I'm starting my own first commercial studio now after 7months of building. Just had a homestudio with protools 9 and a digi 003 rack so i'm not very into the TDM/HD system so count with more topics in the search for help from me :)

Thank you guys for great support!!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2012, 06:59 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,367
Default Re: Problems with 3x888 24

Most of what you'll need to know can be found at

archive.digidesign.com

Manuals, compatibility docs, etc. That, and this forum are your best resources for one of these older systems.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Studio Setup problems & Plugin problems J Nauti MIDI 0 03-02-2010 12:04 PM
Computer Problems vs Pro Tools Problems mudlake slim Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-14-2006 09:09 PM
Rewinding Problems, Cutting & Pasting Problems Nikki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-22-2005 02:19 PM
Problems, Problems, Problems all day long... Jperkins Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-12-2005 08:58 AM
PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001 Ajay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-03-2002 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com