Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2010, 12:39 PM
Bryan Talbot Bryan Talbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cloud nine
Posts: 96
Default Run PT on auxiliary boot drive?

I've created an additional boot drive (external FW400), because I'm still running 7.4.2/10.5.5 and am not ready to start from scratch and upgrade to PT9. I've installed OS 10.5.8 on the additional drive so I can boot from it and sync up a new iPhone.

Is there any reason I can't install my copy of PT7 on the additional drive, pay for the upgrade to 9, and run PT9 from that drive?

Sorry if there's an obvious answer, TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2010, 12:55 PM
tripit tripit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 394
Default Re: Run PT on auxiliary boot drive?

You can do that, I do it all the time. I have a separate FW boot drive I use for testing upgrades before committing them to my main internal drive. Even though a FW doesn't have the bandwidth of esata, I've never experienced a problem running PT from it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2010, 01:19 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 918
Default Re: Run PT on auxiliary boot drive?

Just a note, you don't have to install PT7 prior to installing 9.
Also, you will have to surrender your 7 license to get the 9 license.
So you will no longer be able to run 7, unless you have a spare license on another ilok.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2010, 03:22 PM
Bryan Talbot Bryan Talbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cloud nine
Posts: 96
Default Re: Run PT on auxiliary boot drive?

Thanks gents
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Boot drive migration to a new internal SATA drive audiowave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-03-2011 04:45 PM
Boot drive 5400 rpm remie Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-15-2006 03:33 PM
FW 800 boot drive Tom at Bonsai Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-02-2006 01:47 PM
DAE w/2nd boot drive? (help) Andrew Westphal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-09-2000 01:24 AM
Boot Drive/Audio drive -SCSI? JimiTM Storage Subsystems 2 08-09-2000 01:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com