Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2010, 09:02 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

If this needs to move to post forum, please do so...

A concert that was filmed (video) needs a singer to come in and do fixes. The video production company is in Europe. The talent is in US. I have been hired to get the talent to re-sing.

Is it as simple as asking the post facility to give me stems and a quicktime?

If I want to hook up a monitor so the talent can see picture while they are singing... is it as simple as using a 2nd monitor for the video? What about timing delays to the video? Does PT compensate so that what you hear is what you see? Where does ADC fit into this?

Any sand-traps that I should be aware of?

I am not going to be mixing this... just tracking the talent and returning a comped stem of the new vocal.

I asked about ambience and they don't seem to care... they just want a better vocal and they will do the rest.

Is this all built into the software that I have used daily for 20 years? DO I need other hardware for the video playback?

Thanks for anything you can share...

J
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2010, 09:31 AM
DHG MUSIC DHG MUSIC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 256
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Taking a wild guess jereme, I believe that the most important thing is for him to replicate what he did, exactly the same way, since most likely the ambience mics, drums ( if there is any, dont know what kind of music is ), etc, already have recorded what he did

This is a very common practice in the pop market, whit the so called "live" albums


I would say that letting him listem phrase by phrase what he has to re do, and maybe ( this works with my bass player) letting him watch the protools track he is replacing, will be more effective.

After all, if he resings it the same way, it should match with the video


HTH
__________________
I used to be insecure...now I'm not really sure
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2010, 10:12 AM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Can't answer most of that - I usually go out through a Canopus with the video offset measured with a Syncheck, but I believe DV on a second monitor (standard PT video playback) is frame accurate (and not through a FW interface, which is why I have to Syncheck-it).

Keep the QT on a separate drive. I'd track the vocal straight out 1-2 to keep ADC in check. If you have the singer in a booth, with the QT running on a display in there, I'd recommend setting up a mirror facing that display so you can see the picture (albeit, reversed) in case there are cues that require picture-specific communication between you and the talent.

You're gonna find that the talent wants to deliver such and such line(s) differently (which is why you were hired in the first place, ) and you'll have to be in the sticky middle of trying to get lines that are better, but match. Whenever the camera is right on the talent, you'll be pretty locked in to what you can get away with. I heard a story about STP's MTV live video where Scott was a little tipsy and was having a good time, singing nursery rhymes and such. Hours before the audio deadline, everything was mixed and ready to send back to video. Scott waltzes in (the night before the deadline) and demanded to sing all 18 songs over again. They didn't match. The suits were pissed!

I'm sure it'll be sweet, though.

Good Luck!
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2010, 11:45 AM
Bryan Talbot Bryan Talbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cloud nine
Posts: 96
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyroberts View Post
The video production company is in Europe. The talent is in US.
I can't speak from experience, but you might want to ensure that there are no PAL-NTSC issues. Not sure if that's a factor in your situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2010, 11:54 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Thanks to all who have responded... I have assembled my shopping list of questions for the producer...

J
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2010, 01:02 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Probably would be good to keep VocALign nearby too
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2010, 02:28 PM
LanceK LanceK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Just remember, If it is a PAL video you will need same monitor. Good luck and tell us how it went
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2010, 02:39 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,291
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

I don't envy that task. I just had to mix a live EP where all the vocals had been replaced and I felt like I was going to go to hell for the sheer dishonesty of it.

Good luck. I guess we're all turd polishing in one way or another.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2010, 02:58 PM
squinkys squinkys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
I don't envy that task. I just had to mix a live EP where all the vocals had been replaced and I felt like I was going to go to hell for the sheer dishonesty of it.

Good luck. I guess we're all turd polishing in one way or another.
HAHAHAHA, well said sir!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2010, 04:43 PM
Ryan Hafer Ryan Hafer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 58
Default Re: Singer needs to re-sing a filmed concert...

VocAlign used to be the key to have handy, but nowadays, elastic audio can be your very good friend.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital 192 and a MCU - now how do they sing together Filmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-04-2011 04:46 PM
Digital 192 and a MCU - now how do they sing together Filmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-04-2011 04:43 PM
And now I sing !!! hahahaha djemass Eleven Rack 4 04-20-2011 09:23 AM
Help Mixing A Sing In pro tools cristol Tips & Tricks 1 11-10-2010 06:50 PM
OT: Singers who can't sing jtplayer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 40 11-07-2002 02:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com