Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2009, 05:02 AM
misterphoneman misterphoneman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Think about it; it’s “funky”, it’s “flashy” but it’s also “buggy” and it doesn’t play well with 3rd party developers. I’m just saying…
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2009, 05:27 AM
relaxo relaxo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

PT8 is the best... a stunningly superb piece of coding. It's made everyday I use it so much more productive and so much more enjoyable.

PT8 is OSX not Vista.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2009, 05:45 AM
sirpucho sirpucho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 194
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

I think I must be mad or it could just be that as is often the case I am one of the silent majority who think Pro Tools 8 is a good thing, as I really don't get the negativity around Pro Tools 8 and calling it Vista that's way off the mark????

First of all I don't think it's perfect I think the waveforms are a bit bright for my liking but the benefits of finally them being translucent so I can see the underlying grid outweighs that, Yes the mixer looks a bit toytown as well and finally although I have it on my LE system it is a bit buggier than I would like and I'm waiting for cs3 for my HD but the benefits ?

The MIDI editing is excellent still not perfect but my God its getting there.

The Score editor is excellent

The free plug ins are finally up there especially for the beginner yes I have Sonnox, Waves and McDSP, all that good stuff but for the first time a user really can do a decent mix without that extra cost (incidently of course I still am not going to drop my extra plug ins ;-) but not everyone I know can afford those and for them 8 is great.)

The biggest problem for me is the age of my old HD Mac but it's well over 6 years old and I can't expect software to just stand still for me. I have a choice though I can just stay on 7.4 if I want no one forces me to 8.

Now I've had a few months to really play around with it yes its not perfect but it is a step up and it will get even better.

So Pro Tools 8 the new Vista?

Not really
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2009, 06:02 AM
Bo Walker Bo Walker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Amersham, UK
Posts: 171
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterphoneman View Post
Think about it; it’s “funky”, it’s “flashy” but it’s also “buggy” and it doesn’t play well with 3rd party developers. I’m just saying…

Way off the mark - trying to be contentious I guess?

PT8 working like a dream here - love it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2009, 07:10 AM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Walker View Post
Way off the mark - trying to be contentious I guess?

PT8 working like a dream here - love it.
I completely agree.

If you goto any major audio forum you'll find the overwhelming majority of pt8 users love it.

There is a very strong information skew here because this forum is almost entirely made for people to come and report problems on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2009, 07:38 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,554
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Dumbest thread ever.

PT8 rocks, and this is the Mac forum, what the fuk do we know about vista?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2009, 08:05 AM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 933
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post

....and this is the Mac forum, what the fuk do we know about vista?
HAHAHAH....

Other than East/West Play, PT8 working fine. Stable and I like the new look.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2009, 08:49 AM
imi imi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 292
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Vi... wot??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2009, 09:40 AM
Bryan Talbot Bryan Talbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cloud nine
Posts: 96
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterphoneman View Post
Think about it; it’s “funky”, it’s “flashy” but it’s also “buggy” and it doesn’t play well with 3rd party developers. I’m just saying…
Are you having specific problems with it? I haven't moved on it because of the varied reports I'm still seeing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2009, 10:22 AM
Rubicon's Avatar
Rubicon Rubicon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 520
Default Re: Will PT8 become Digidesign's "Vista"???

I can't live without PT8. I can certainly live without Vista....
__________________
Wikipedia
IMDB
ITunes

ML 10.8.2, PT 10.3.1 HD Accel 3, Mac Harpertown 32gb Apple RAM, 4 1T Apple Drives, Waves Mercury. Lots of unstable VI's.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 04:04 PM
Mbox (1st Gen) Windows Vista - crash error "c0000005" HELP Please ! ze_lizhard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-17-2011 07:55 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
System Hangs on "Creating DAE Objects" In Vista 32 w/ Digi003 Rostafunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-19-2009 03:18 PM
Digidesign's new "Pandora's Box" geminirand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-02-2002 05:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com