Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2005, 11:58 AM
stayce9665 stayce9665 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmdale, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fast...

Just purchased my HD3 system a week ago. Everything was running along fine, and then I keep getting horrible white noise type of sounds, followed by the session stopping and giving me this message: DAE can't get audio from the drive fast enough. Could be due to Firewire drive...etc Error -9073. Called DIGI and they told me to copy the drive to another drive, which I have done, and then erase the new drive with the Mac Extended OS showing. I have done that. Then they told me to put the files back on the drive. I have done that. Same problem and I am going bonkers. I would appreciate any help I could get. I have 2 firewire drives that have the proper chipset, and get the same errors launching the same sessions(1 is a backup version). I don't have Norton installed, and can't figure out what the problem is. I would appreciate some brotherly advice.

PT 6.7(including current cs update)
Control 24
HD3 Accel/192 i/o
Mac Dual G4 1.25ghz(Mirror Doors)/1 Gig Ram
OSX 10.3.7
2 Firewire audio drives with the proper chipset.
__________________
HD3/Accel with 192 i/o
Dual Mac G4/1.25ghz, 1 Gig Ram
OSX 10.3.9
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2005, 12:26 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,547
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fast...

Hmm. This is difficult to troubleshoot without every detail of the drives, cable lengths, etc etc. Add an internal ATA drive and see if that exhibits the same problem.

Another thing to try is to switch your DAE buffer higher and higher until it works.

Also, what is the drive buffer size?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2005, 02:05 PM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 720
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

had the same problem until cs8 came along..have to dump all the databases.and make sure your drives are formated without the indexing on..
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2005, 02:36 PM
stayce9665 stayce9665 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmdale, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

The DAE buffer size is set to Level 2, which is what the manual recommended. My HW Buffer is set to 512.

Mixer, I am kind of a rookie, so I was wondering, do you mean to dump all of the databases in the trash and let PT rebuild them after I reboot? And does that mean every database on every drive? Also, I have already updated to cs8.
__________________
HD3/Accel with 192 i/o
Dual Mac G4/1.25ghz, 1 Gig Ram
OSX 10.3.9
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2005, 03:40 PM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 720
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

every audio drive has a digidesign database folder..drag all of them to the trash..they do get corrupted..i find i have to do this two or three times a week...make sure you have formatted the drives using the mac drive utility and have not checked the index box..that really screws things up..i use ezquest cobra+ drives and usually don't have trouble..but do have to trash prefs and databases every once and awhile..good luck....hope you figure it out..everyday a new challenge..
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2005, 03:55 PM
stayce9665 stayce9665 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmdale, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

Where do I find the Preferences at? Will they be on every drive like the databases are?
__________________
HD3/Accel with 192 i/o
Dual Mac G4/1.25ghz, 1 Gig Ram
OSX 10.3.9
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2005, 04:36 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

Quote:
Where do I find the Preferences at? Will they be on every drive like the databases are?
user/library/preferences.

also try disk warrior. norton is only good for using it's install cd as a coaster and its box is for your gerbil.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:59 PM
stayce9665 stayce9665 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmdale, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

Trashed the DAE Preferences/trashed the databases. Nothing has worked. I have erased the drive and reinitialized it as Mac OS Extended. Nothing seems to work. Session still stops in the middle of certain sections. Norton is not installed. For the investment, I can see that this could really be great, but I need to get this worked out. I appreciate all of your guys' help thus far. Any ideas?
__________________
HD3/Accel with 192 i/o
Dual Mac G4/1.25ghz, 1 Gig Ram
OSX 10.3.9
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2005, 08:27 PM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

Try going to the section where it's been locking up and playing the tracks one by one until it crashes. Could be a bad fade file, usually it will crash about a second or so before it has to play the fade.


Maybe.

good luck
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2005, 11:01 PM
stayce9665 stayce9665 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmdale, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Re: Error -9073 DAE Can\'t get audio from drive fas

Well, it starts playing like white noise at random locations. I have tried all of the different playback engines, and nothing seems to work. I never know when the noise is going to kick in, just that eventually it stops and gives me the Error -9037 message.
__________________
HD3/Accel with 192 i/o
Dual Mac G4/1.25ghz, 1 Gig Ram
OSX 10.3.9
Control 24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAE can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough (-9073 error) DeDemoman macOS 9 04-26-2015 04:13 PM
DAE error -9073 DAE can't get audio from the drives fast enough. Your drive may be to drewmack76 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 03-22-2012 06:39 PM
DAE error -9073 DAE can't get audio from the drives fast enough Big Crouton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-21-2011 04:57 PM
Error -9073 DAE can't get audio from th edrive(s) fast enoug Ty Ford 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-13-2007 05:07 PM
DAE 9073, Error 6, DAE cant get audio fast enough lydie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-16-2006 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com