Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2017, 10:24 AM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 241
Default DSP Plugs Grayed Out - older session

Hi. I have a five-year-old session. Upon opening it, most of my DSP plugins from that time frame are grayed out (Waves SSL Series and Massey's). I want to preserve the settings, automation, etc. of these inactive plugins as I'm remixing a few old projects.
Tried to convert them but "Convert to native plugin" is grayed out on all.
Anyone know how to convert them to Native so all settings are preserved?
Thanks!
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3
PT HDX
MacPro 7,1
16 Core
96 GB ram
OS X Catalina 10.15.5
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2017, 04:33 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: DSP Plugs Grayed Out - older session

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinky View Post
Hi. I have a five-year-old session. Upon opening it, most of my DSP plugins from that time frame are grayed out (Waves SSL Series and Massey's). I want to preserve the settings, automation, etc. of these inactive plugins as I'm remixing a few old projects.
Tried to convert them but "Convert to native plugin" is grayed out on all.
Anyone know how to convert them to Native so all settings are preserved?
Thanks!
Can't do it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2017, 09:11 AM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 241
Default Re: DSP Plugs Grayed Out - older session

Wow! Not good. Okay, thanks for the response.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3
PT HDX
MacPro 7,1
16 Core
96 GB ram
OS X Catalina 10.15.5
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2017, 09:28 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: DSP Plugs Grayed Out - older session

Could it not be done on an older system first - i.e. convert the DSP plugins to Native on an HD TDM system first then re-open that session in 12? If so I could convert the SSL plugs for you, although I don't have any Massey ones apart from L2007.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2017, 11:16 AM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 241
Default Re: DSP Plugs Grayed Out - older session

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicune View Post
Could it not be done on an older system first - i.e. convert the DSP plugins to Native on an HD TDM system first then re-open that session in 12? If so I could convert the SSL plugs for you, although I don't have any Massey ones apart from L2007.
Sounds plausible to me. Thanks very much for the offer, @ suicune. I decided from my last post to move on and just play it by ear
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3
PT HDX
MacPro 7,1
16 Core
96 GB ram
OS X Catalina 10.15.5
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2017, 09:25 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: DSP Plugs Grayed Out - older session

I'm literally dealing with the exact same thing tonight...!

I have a bunch of plugins that, for some reason, won't open up as Native versions... If you go into the Plugin menu, and choose the exact same item as what is there (but greyed out), it will open up with the correct settings (save for automation)...

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General question about older TDM plugs giroserex Windows 9 08-04-2017 04:18 PM
How to Register Older Oxford Plugs?? mrhappy1997 RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 2 06-09-2016 11:45 PM
Pro Tools Session grayed out Vanereal Disease Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-29-2010 11:59 AM
6.9.2 Mac Session Setup 29.97 Grayed out Rick Sanchez Post - Surround - Video 2 11-02-2005 09:50 AM
Older PT session EQ JoeS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-07-2003 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com