Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:52 AM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 90
Default Low Latency Interfaces?

Can anyone share their experiences with LL Interfaces such as RME or Quantum?

Is it possible with today's powerful PC's to simply monitor and work within Pro Tools without having to resort to direct monitoring thru the interface software?

I switched from a TDM system to UAD and it works but, I have never really been happy with having to use the UAD console. It just seems like a work around. I miss the simplicity of just working in Pro Tools. TDM just worked!

I'm working on a project now that will probably finish up before the end of the year. After that I'm probably going to get out of the UAD ecosystem.

HDX isn't an option because I refuse to pay the inflated maintenance fees.

Is there an interface option that will do what I want?
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
UAD Apollo Twin Thunderbolt
OS - Windows 10 Pro

https://soundcloud.com/jpsexton

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2018, 01:38 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Low Latency Interfaces?

I currently run a Quantum interface under Windows and can achieve 4 ms total latency, which I can not detect and always track without direct monitoring.

I have also used the Focusrite TB Clarett interface, which is also very good, but the Quantum drivers seem more efficient where I can user a smaller buffer without issues.

The Focusrite preamps have more character, and it's a perfectly usable interface, but if sheer performance is your goal, then go for the Quantum.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2018, 01:47 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,502
Default Re: Low Latency Interfaces?

I have a Native Instruments KA6 and I track guitar and bass with virtually no latency, even in sessions with heavy plugin count where I have to use 256 or 512 I can barely notice it (provided that none of the plugins used imparts a large value to ADC). The little box really excels in performance!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com

Last edited by amagras; 09-27-2018 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,117
Default Re: Low Latency Interfaces?

Since the OP is used to the UA interface, just be aware of one detail. Without the Apollo AND the UA "console", you will not be able to track with any UAD plugins. The latency will not allow it, outside of the Apollo's console(on my HD/Native rig, every UAD plugin reports at least 1100 samples of latency). If you don't need UAD plugins while tracking, then it won't be a problem
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2018, 08:09 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 90
Default Re: Low Latency Interfaces?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Since the OP is used to the UA interface, just be aware of one detail. Without the Apollo AND the UA "console", you will not be able to track with any UAD plugins. The latency will not allow it, outside of the Apollo's console(on my HD/Native rig, every UAD plugin reports at least 1100 samples of latency). If you don't need UAD plugins while tracking, then it won't be a problem
If I change from the Apollo, I'll likely get out of the UAD ecosystem altogether. Their all or nothing policy concerning reselling plugins has kept me from investing to heavily. The EMT140 is the only one I'll miss...
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
UAD Apollo Twin Thunderbolt
OS - Windows 10 Pro

https://soundcloud.com/jpsexton

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2018, 12:53 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,405
Default Re: Low Latency Interfaces?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
If I change from the Apollo, I'll likely get out of the UAD ecosystem altogether. Their all or nothing policy concerning reselling plugins has kept me from investing to heavily. The EMT140 is the only one I'll miss...


Let’s not go there b/c I would miss more than a few 🤭
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfaces and Latency Questions kaldyn Getting Started 19 06-15-2014 09:50 AM
Latency between Digi 003 and audio interfaces crazy_ow Pro Tools 9 12 08-26-2012 11:51 AM
Low latency monitoring in non Avid interfaces flautista Pro Tools 10 11 01-08-2012 07:13 PM
Maudio interfaces, any better latency than others? angela howard Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 07-08-2005 06:15 AM
OT: Latency Issues with USB MIDI interfaces butter_lover 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-31-2003 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com