Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-30-2003, 06:56 AM

Default ARE WAVES THE BEST PLUGINS IN THE MARKET?

I have been using Waves for the last two months, I like some Plugins like TRUVERB, Q10, L1-L2, But I was wondering if I should keep buying just WAVES since all the plugins have the same controls and its kind of easy to learn a new plugins features.
Old 09-30-2003, 09:36 AM

Default Re: ARE WAVES THE BEST PLUGINS IN THE MARKET?

As for the "ease of use" argument, yes, that's a good reason to stick with Waves. However, experimenting with others would definitely expand your scope a bit. The Bombfactory compressors, for example, have a vintage analog quality to them that may be more suited to some needs. I am extremely pleased with Waves plug-ins and I would definitely lean towards a Waves product if I had to decide on a new plug-in and it was available from two different brands.

If we were talking about all plug-ins for all platforms (ie:TDM, Mac, etc.) there may be a serious debate about what's the best on the market. Many of the Mac TDM guys I know are in love with McDSP plugs. If you're wondering what is the best for PTLE on PC, then it's Waves hands down!!

Old 09-30-2003, 09:41 AM

R-Verb is definitely nicer sounding than TrueVerb. You may be a little intimidated by it at this point, but once you get comfortable with it, you'll never go back. I don't use TrueVerb that much anymore.
Old 09-30-2003, 09:55 AM

Thanks Bill, Helpfull Answers like this is what I love.
Old 09-30-2003, 10:00 AM

Quote:
The Bombfactory compressors, for example, have a vintage analog quality to them that may be more suited to some needs.