Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2019, 10:16 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,404
Default Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

...and low and behold, i was lucky enough to find topics disclosing that it worked on audio tracks ONLY..

Can someone confirm this is still the case? And if so, isn't it actually kind of useless for the modern ITB composer?

It feels like typical Avid where it's done half way if this is the case.. Who on Earth WOULDN'T want to add it to VI's and submix busses?

I really hope this is wrong, but if not, I am glad I just saved myself 200 bucks.

Sheesh!
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, Apollo8 x2 + Octopre x2, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, triple boot OS 10.12.6/10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 12/2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™) Best DAW ever.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2019, 10:32 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...e-have-answers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2019, 10:55 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,350
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

So only on Audio Tracks then
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2019, 12:06 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,404
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

Ahh the posts I had found via google were much older.. so, it's a shame to see it's still the case.. Hard pass then.. Would rather just get phoenix or something and put it wherever I like...
I don't like the idea of bussing things to armed audio tracks to apply it to other sources, especially with the PT performance issues I have with record monitored tracks..
It's not as if avid CAN'T add it to all track types.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, Apollo8 x2 + Octopre x2, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, triple boot OS 10.12.6/10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 12/2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™) Best DAW ever.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2019, 03:57 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

HEAT is all ready applied to each track, HEAT on buses would mean double-processing, no? What's the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2019, 04:19 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
HEAT is all ready applied to each track, HEAT on buses would mean double-processing, no? What's the problem?

Not instrument tracks though and that’s the OP’s issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2019, 06:12 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,404
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
HEAT is all ready applied to each track, HEAT on buses would mean double-processing, no? What's the problem?
It would actually probably work better in this case just being on busses like harrison mixbuss IMO.

Regardless anyway, what I meant was not to use it on individual tracks in some cases and use it on a submix buss...and depending on the mix there's nothing wrong with using it both on tracks and then individual busses either.. there's no right or wrong in this situation, if it sounds good it sounds good. Avid just made it very limiting is all I mean.. this is 2019.. audio tracks are (sometimes) my least used track.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, Apollo8 x2 + Octopre x2, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, triple boot OS 10.12.6/10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 12/2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™) Best DAW ever.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2019, 01:50 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,531
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

Commit the VI and you have audio
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2019, 05:31 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,015
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Commit the VI and you have audio
That's what most of us do.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2019, 03:12 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,125
Default Re: Was looking at finally buying HEAT..really?

To be fair, I never normally commit VIs until the mix or indeed archiving if possible. You never know when a singer wants to try a different key or you need to add some more of an existing keyboard part to the arrangement etc.

If Heat is for audio tracks only it certainly is limiting. One can add any number of Heat type plugins to any track and indeed, use pretty much all of them in other DAWs.

Heat sounds great from what I have heard but this is yet another not to buy. Even at the current £202.80 (inc. VAT) offer from Avid, it is still far too expensive, especially considering it is limited to Pro Tools use only. I think long and hard these days about any PT or AAX only plugins given the current rising costs of Pro Tools.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Heat dcboucher Buy & Sell 3 12-05-2018 04:37 AM
HEAT Mark Dann Buy & Sell 3 12-11-2014 08:42 PM
Does comping to a Heat enabled track print the Heat? joshdrucker macOS 0 03-12-2014 11:17 PM
Fs: HEAT for TDM/AAX DSP mixboy bob Buy & Sell 0 11-25-2013 07:20 AM
HELP! I am buying a Dell Laptop with intent on buying a DIGI 001 as well xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-18-2003 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com