Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2013, 03:24 PM
mccoyrare@yahoo.com mccoyrare@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 89
Default How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2013, 03:27 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,696
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

Those western digital drives have stickers on the topside

And as you would guess they are color coded
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2013, 04:13 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

WD color codes the label stickers
Also if you can read the drive model number w/o opening the case you should be able to search for the model number on WD web site. But not all bridge boards pass the drive model number.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2013, 09:53 AM
mccoyrare@yahoo.com mccoyrare@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 89
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

So Green or Blue drives pertains to only Western Digital?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:56 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

Western Digital color codes most of there drive http://www.wdc.com/en/products/internal/desktop/
Blue: general
Black: performance
Green: power saving
Red: power saving server
RE3or4: high end server
VelociRaptor: high performance

Seagate has green power saving drives but it's not a family class the way WD does so you have to look more closely at the specs and model number
http://www.seagate.com/internal-hard...top-hdd/#specs
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2013, 12:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,011
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

While WD makes a drive that is named "green", many drive manufacturers make drives that ARE "green" in that they(claim) use less electricity in some way(and its NOT in a way that you want working in any audio computer), usually by spinning down or not actually spinning at 7200 rpm. Leave the "green" drives(no matter the brand) to office machines and backup drives
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2013, 11:05 AM
mccoyrare@yahoo.com mccoyrare@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 89
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

Can you add a WD internal hard drive to a laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2013, 11:47 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

in theory, yes a 2.5" one
it depends on the laptop
are you talking system drive replacement or an extra media drive
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2013, 07:14 PM
mccoyrare@yahoo.com mccoyrare@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 89
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

System drive replacement
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-2013, 09:25 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive

Mac or Windows?
WD has a new Black Hybrid for Windows that looks interesting.
It is a SSD and a spinner in one case that share the SATA port, Install the OS on the SSD > run some special app > you get the spinner for big storage
If you feeling adventurous http://www.wd.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=1190
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync-blue and midi-blue with protools 11? John Becool Pro Tools 11 4 09-11-2013 11:28 AM
Blinking green/solid blue - no playback huntmooses Pro Tools 10 1 12-20-2011 12:56 AM
Switching between blue and green Tempo Ruler? Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-18-2010 06:03 PM
blue lights or green lights when loading up... zippitydoodah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-15-2007 02:58 AM
The blue color scheme is an improvement Vs. the green, thanks digi. editor General Discussion 9 01-23-2001 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com