Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2010, 06:19 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 960
Default Dead text window on D-Command

Hi all,

Anyone lost an upper text window on a blue D-Command? No top text window on channel 4. I've reset firmware, etc. It is blank when I run the internal diagnostics. I swapped it with the top panel from my Fader Pak and it worked so the connections and power must be good. Any suggestions other than running through the "new improved" Avid tech support?
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2010, 09:24 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

Hi Will,

Worth a try is to go to utility mode and crank brightness and contrast settings to low and high extremes. I've seen that bring the scribble back to life.

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2010, 09:38 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 960
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

Good idea, tried it, no love.

If I press lightly on the display it lights up but only a few pixels work.

I'm tempted to just take the thing apart and see if a solder touch up is in order.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2010, 02:13 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 960
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

As it turns out the display modules are socket mounted. YAY!
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:16 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 719
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
As it turns out the display modules are socket mounted. YAY!
I have a blue D-Command for maybe 1 and 1/2 month now, and i have the same issue. I have a dead text window on the fader pack. reseting and playing with brightness and contrast worked a couple of times, but now nothing seems to get it back to life.

Will, I was wondering how did you replaced it? Is it easy to DIY?
Did you order the part from Avid?

Thanks!

Luc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2011, 03:22 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 960
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

I ordered the part from Avid. If you have experience taking things
like this apart it's easy.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2011, 07:15 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 719
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
I ordered the part from Avid. If you have experience taking things
like this apart it's easy.
Thanks for the info Will, i will contact Avid for the part.
Is it Expensive?

Cheers

Luc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2011, 08:24 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 960
Default Re: Dead text window on D-Command

nope.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After 8.0.3 install, no text in workspace or relink window inasimplerhyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 12-10-2014 01:53 PM
Dead undo switch on D-command Jambroch ICON & C|24 3 04-28-2013 08:50 AM
Dead D-command mark linett ICON & C|24 1 01-14-2011 09:02 PM
Command 8 dead fader already?!! mantaray ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 08-24-2006 06:48 PM
DEAD DSP in usage window? brasssail Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-18-2000 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com