Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2007, 08:23 AM
QuickPuppy QuickPuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Augustine, Florida, USA
Posts: 41
Default Batch File Name/Volume Changes-How To?

Hello all,

Two questions:

1. Does anyone know how to make batch changes to the names of sound files. I would guess that this would be an OS level change instead of within Protools. I have a hundreds of effects that need to have the names changed to remove the first 5-6 characters and replace them with two characters so I can search through things more easily.

2. All of the effects are normalized to full volume. Is there a way to make a batch change to all of them to reduce the level so they don't blow me away when they are auditioned?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2007, 09:00 AM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: Batch File Name/Volume Changes-How To?

1. Does anyone know how to make batch changes to the names of sound files. I would guess that this would be an OS level change instead of within Protools. I have a hundreds of effects that need to have the names changed to remove the first 5-6 characters and replace them with two characters so I can search through things more easily.

The Command Prompt's RENAME command allows renaming groups of files in the same folder with use of the ????????.??? and *.* specifiers. Experiment on a few copies in a temporary folder to see if it will do what you want.

Also, Google "rename group of files" to get some utilities that may be easier and/or better.



2. All of the effects are normalized to full volume. Is there a way to make a batch change to all of them to reduce the level so they don't blow me away when they are auditioned?

I'm not at a machine so can't check, but there may be a setting for preview volume some where. If not, and you can't just turn down the sound somewhere, you can import them all into a Protools session, use the Audiosuite "Gain" plug in to reduce them all by (eg) 20 db. This will write new files so you still have your old ones. Use the new ones to audition, then use the old full gain version in the session.
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2007, 11:50 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Batch File Name/Volume Changes-How To?

Try Flash Renamer: http://www.rlvision.com/flashren/about.asp
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:35 AM
iamnerdyrocker iamnerdyrocker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 67
Default Re: Batch File Name/Volume Changes-How To?

If I need to rename a bunch of files in Pro Tools, Strip Silence is the way to go. PT7 added a feature in there called 'Rename' and it is very handy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:59 PM
QuickPuppy QuickPuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Augustine, Florida, USA
Posts: 41
Default Re: Batch File Name/Volume Changes-How To?

Thanks everyone for the suggestions, but Rail's Flash Renamer was the winner! Great little app!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I "batch" export each region as separate audio file? Screenery Tips & Tricks 1 05-03-2008 10:12 PM
Need a batch file Renamer App?? minister Post - Surround - Video 6 08-20-2006 10:28 AM
Batch rename file types? jonnyrocker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-22-2006 03:17 PM
batch sound file converter for OSX? JR Fountain Post - Surround - Video 9 05-03-2004 07:33 AM
How to batch convert SDII to other file-types? PeterScherr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-01-2003 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com