Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2019, 03:25 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 254
Default Save alert message

I keep getting this message, every 20 minutes or so:

"The disk copy of “Cue 1” was changed since you last opened it. Do you want to save a copy?"

The disk copy has not changed. Anyone know why this is happening.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2019, 07:42 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,182
Default Re: Save alert message

That's weird - never seen that one!
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2019, 08:36 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 254
Default Re: Save alert message

Figured it out. Since I keep my project folder in Dropbox, this message comes up sometimes when Dropbox syncs.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2019, 09:05 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 283
Default Re: Save alert message

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
Since I keep my project folder in Dropbox, this message comes up sometimes when Dropbox syncs.
How does that workflow work? Are you keeping the session on Dropbox and the media files local?

Just curious. I'm interested in it.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2019, 09:10 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 254
Default Re: Save alert message

My entire Pro Tools project folder for any given cue is in my Dropbox folder. The only resource not in that folder is the movie file I work to. I've done this for years and it's only recently that I've seen this message about the file being changed.

I have a fast upload speed so it's just completely working in the background unnoticeably.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2019, 09:44 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: Save alert message

Dropbox changed their software recently to introduce new “offline”/folder syncing. Since they force an autoupdate, you don’t get a choice
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2019, 02:52 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 254
Default Re: Save alert message

Strange that this issue is intermittent though.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2019, 03:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: Save alert message

Not really. If you watch how Dropbox syncs, it quickly locks and creates a snapshot of a file before syncing. Then unlocks. If ProTools tries to write to the locked file at the same time it’ll encounter an error. So it depends when in the cycle these operations happen. It will seem random because of that
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session wouldn't save with strange alert DonaldM Windows 3 06-10-2014 09:38 PM
Error Message when trying to save projects ??? Bongo38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-21-2009 05:21 AM
Save Copy As error message dmacintyre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-09-2009 11:47 AM
alert message a baout the cpu chissey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-19-2007 11:44 AM
Error message, can't save to my Lacie? producermandan66 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-21-2007 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com