Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2015, 11:14 AM
Kevin Kascak Kevin Kascak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Default Windows 10 and PT 12?

I heard PT 12 is not compatible with Windows 10 x64. Is this true?

Just wondering since the Windows 10 free update is almost over. Waiting to upgrade do to PT 12 will cost about $150 USD. Only a couple weeks left on the free Windows 10 update.

Thanks
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2015, 11:19 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

It isn't officially supported, but working fine here. If you make money with Pro Tools, I'd wait until it is supported.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...EUCON-and-ISIS

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2015, 11:25 AM
seanbil seanbil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Kascak View Post
I heard PT 12 is not compatible with Windows 10 x64. Is this true?

Just wondering since the Windows 10 free update is almost over. Waiting to upgrade do to PT 12 will cost about $150 USD. Only a couple weeks left on the free Windows 10 update.

Thanks
Kevin
As JoelG mentioned, PT12 is not officially qualified for use with Windows 10. So it may or may not work well for most configurations. As some would say, "YMMV". However, if you'd still like to try it, then be sure that you've got the latest drivers installed for your audio interface.

The free Windows 10 upgrade is available through July 29, 2016. The redemption period for the free upgrade is 1-year from the official release date, which was July 29, 2015. HTH!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2015, 07:28 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 405
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

I've been asking this question in the Windows forum with the same stock answer " windows 10 " is not supported
Now I really like to see Avid give us some feedback at least, all you get is don't use it,perhaps we are testing, but not even that, new systems are not shipping with Win 7 or 8
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2015, 09:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,705
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

"Not supported" does not always mean it won't work. I have Win10/PT12.3/Mbox 2 Pro working here on a backup system, and have had SOME success with it on my HDN rig(but not to the point where I will use it with clients). As with any upgrade, have a backup plan!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2015, 09:44 PM
Dot Dot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

I upgraded to Win10 3 weeks ago. there's no big difference in performance comparing to Win7, i notice however sometimes I get occasional pop/click, i suspect is has something to do with drivers. Most of them aren't officially win10 drivers, but so far so good. I cant complain
__________________
www.dominicdotokune.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2015, 09:50 PM
Quickdraw Quickdraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

If you have some time to get things setup properly it should run just fine, if it's your main system I would hold off just until it has been more widely tested.
I wonder how long it will take for 10 to be "supported"? I would think a year would be long enough even for Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2015, 01:49 AM
pianosound pianosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turlock, Central CA
Posts: 911
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

A year is about par for the course with Avid for an op sys. I've been running W 10, PT's 12.3.1 for a while now (only about a week or two with PT 12.3.1, longer with 12.2.1), and haven't noticed anything unusually unusual. So far so good?!
Mike
__________________
Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0GHz | Asus Z97-Pro LGA 1150 Intel 6Gb | Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB DDR3 2400 | Asus GT640 Silent 2 GB GDDR3 | Samsung 850 Pro SSD's, WD Caviar Black HDD's | PSU Corsair 750W ATX12V | Windows 10 | Presonus Studio One | 003R PT's 12.8 | Waves Platinum | Ivory/Piano | Berlin Woodwinds, Nocturne Solo Violin | SPITFIRE Solo Strings | EastWest Hollywood Strings, Brass, Pro Drummer, and Stormdrum 2 | VSL | Vienna Ensemble Pro | M-Audio Code 61, FaderPort 8 |
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2015, 07:17 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

Windows 10 here, and working well. But I don't recommend it for anyone else.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-23-2015, 06:06 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 405
Default Re: Windows 10 and PT 12?

I have mixed results, sometime Pro Tools stops responding, and oddly it is more stable if I don't run pro tools as administrator
So I'm stuck, this is my 1st PC so I started with Win10
I'm coming from a Mac system so I'm somewhat frustrated, but hopefully Avid will support Win 10 or I might go Hackintosh
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7 ryanjantz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2011 04:22 PM
PT 9 and Windows 7 major CPU spike fix!! PT 9 bug, with fix. Every Windows user!! Will The Weirdo Windows 4 01-19-2011 12:37 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com