Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:03 PM
Tomio Broman Tomio Broman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 96
Default Anyone using MIDI i/o on the HPxw9300?

I have a question for the HPxw9300 users?

Has anyone ever had success using the MIDI i/o with the HPxw9300?

I keep having trouble.

The MIDI i/o is on an Gefen Cat5 - 4 port USB extender.
I have a Mouse, D-Control Keyboard, and a USB - Serial converter for my Air 6 speakers, plus the MIDI i/o connected to the extender.

In ProTools, the MIDI i/o gets connected at first, but it keeps going offline, with error messages appearing saying that it lost communication with the MIDI i/o.

Digi said that it was a HPxw9300 compatibility problem.

It didn't use to happen on my IBM Z pro system.


Thanks
Tomio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:50 PM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: Anyone using MIDI i/o on the HPxw9300?

I don't have that equipment, but as a first trouble-shooting test I suggest connecting to a usb port directly on the motherboard or on a pci card, with no hub/extenders in between, and see if that improves it.
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2007, 12:50 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Anyone using MIDI i/o on the HPxw9300?

i have the same problem when using my midiI/O with my 002r and command 8. i get a command 8 has lost communication error and my midi I/O goes offline .i running on a tyan quad.
i called tech and was told to run the I/O with the optional power supply. i have yet to try because i was able to make the problem almost totally dissappear.

i noticed the problem happened mostly when i was reading sessions off of an hfs formatted drive and also when using Akoustik piano

clearing ALL preferences after working with the mac drive seemed to do the trick for me. occasionally i still get the offline error but,it is very rare and only seems to happen when using Akoustic piano.
if problem happens again, i will try with power supply but for now,clearing prefs was my solution
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 03:33 PM
003 midi ports not there in midi studio setup? Unable to record midi now? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-22-2009 12:06 AM
MIDI Questions On IMPORTING MIDI & Recording MIDI Pro Tools LE 7.4 Michaeldante MIDI 3 03-27-2009 05:42 PM
USB midi vs. din midi-(the old style midi connector) Ling Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-19-2009 02:15 PM
HPxw8200 or HPxw9300 Tomio Broman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 10-17-2005 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com