Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-01-2010, 06:11 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdre909 View Post
When u say this out-loud it sounds pretty freaking ridiculous no? It should NOT be this way!
No it doesn't.. when 1 buys a microwave, does 1 put aluminum foil in it? U hav knowledge about it & kno u can't do that with that product regardless to what type brand, price etc... there's som things u jus don't do...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-01-2010, 06:18 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Tired of the problems

we can think of it as our own custom builts Macs known parts that work for PTLE. Shane had the best analogy that i've heard to date. to para-phrase what he once posted...'our rigs are seen as a TDM DSP chip' for PTLE...sorta close to what he said. there is no native code built from the ground up...as in Reaper, S1, etc. the Mac TDM code was modified to run on Windows and non-DSP usin' rigs. so if you're not up for buildin' your own TDM DSP look-alike rig then 'maybe' PTLE is not the best choice for ya like i said earlier, lotsa DAWs to choose from these days
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-01-2010, 06:28 PM
jimst57 jimst57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 265
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linhardt View Post
if you buy or build a system that does not work with LE it is completely your fault. That's the cold, hard truth.
Disagree. Again, if you buy software for sale in a store, it should run on a modern PC.

Don't argue with me about PC issues. I've worked in IT for 27 years, and I'm an MCSE.

FACT: This is old software that has lots of problems, and for some reson there's no response from the developers to competitionn.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-01-2010, 06:30 PM
Linhardt Linhardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 111
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimst57 View Post
Disagree. Again, if you buy software for sale in a store, it should run on a modern PC.

Don't argue with me about PC issues. I've worked in IT for 27 years, and I'm an MCSE.

FACT: This is old software that has lots of problems, and for some reson there's no response from the developers to competitionn.
We'll have to agree to disagree then. I've done the same schlock with the same elementary cert for 20...which, as you know, has very little to do with building a box to run PTLE, but whatever. I'm sorry you've had a bad experience. Based on that experience you're certainly entitled to whatever opinion you may have. A few of us are simply suggesting that there are ways to diminish your rage....Reaper, Ableton, Cubase...flip a coin, and happy hunting :) Or... you could use your knowledge of installing, configuring, and troubleshooting network systems in an 03 server environment to post a Sandra and contribute in some sort of positive manner so we can get you up and running. :) :)
__________________
---------------------
Darth Hobo, Dark Lord of the Synth

=========
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-01-2010, 06:54 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,181
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimst57 View Post
Disagree. Again, if you buy software for sale in a store, it should run on a modern PC.
There should also be world peace and no diseases but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimst57 View Post
Don't argue with me about PC issues. I've worked in IT for 27 years, and I'm an MCSE.
We can't argue about it as we still know nothing about your system or the problems you're having. I would have thought an MCSE would understand the importance of troubleshooting and optimizing your hardware for the job it's trying to do. But you obviously know more about computers than all of us - I'm just a musician who has a working Pro Tools system.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-01-2010, 07:06 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimst57 View Post
FACT: This is old software that has lots of problems, and for some reson there's no response from the developers to competitionn.
Yup.

Sheesh, guys, cut the OP a break, we've all been there with Pro Tools; Don't act like you haven't and don't pretend for a minute that Pro Tools isn't the most fickle, unstable program you've ever used (just a friendly reminder!)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-01-2010, 07:14 PM
Nyhmesis Nyhmesis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linhardt View Post
With all due respect, this is not the Blizzard Entertainment paladin forum. We're supposed to be here to help support, troubleshoot, and share tips concerning a DAW that most of us successfully use to put food on the table every day. I understand you don't like the product and are on a rage. Point taken. Are there some issues? Sure. There's issues with all DAW's at some point. But really, with all of the knowledge that's available on this forum alone...if you buy or build a system that does not work with LE it is completely your fault. That's the cold, hard truth. Take some ownership, man! Best of luck to you, but really...like the others are suggesting, time for you to move on. The Sunday paper special from The Buy is for web surfing and light gaming, not running a Pro Tools system. Bye.

OMG I hated the Blizzard forums. Sorry, I realize this was off topic but seeing the words Blizzard and Paladin used so close together in the same sentence brought back some old really bad memories.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-01-2010, 07:15 PM
Linhardt Linhardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 111
Default Re: Tired of the problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Yup.

Sheesh, guys, cut the OP a break, we've all been there with Pro Tools; Don't act like you haven't and don't pretend for a minute that Pro Tools isn't the most fickle, unstable program you've ever used (just a friendly reminder!)
Don't think anyone is trying to do anything quite like that. Myself, I was hoping to enter what is simply a fruitless vent post, watch KB represent, get details, and try to get a fellow DUC'er functional. Instead I have lowered myself into a deep pit of emo despair and craigslistesque hostility from which there is no escape. For my part of this wretched fiasco, I sincerely apologize. Lesson learned. Cya, hobos.
__________________
---------------------
Darth Hobo, Dark Lord of the Synth

=========
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-01-2010, 07:55 PM
ram130 ram130 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 322
Default Re: Tired of the problems

I'm tired of it. If I only knew that I would be getting problems everyday I wouldn't have buy this thing. Avid's reluctance to immediatly fix the robotic sound issue makes my mobile studio go down the drain. Then to top it off I'm now having this issue where I would be some where near the track limit, with just around 10 plugins with just 60% CPU being used. Then all of sudden it spikes up to 100% and saying "
You are running out of CPU power. Remove some
RTAS plug-ins or increase the CPU Usage Limit in the
Playback Engine dialog.
(-9128)" and wont let me CONTINUE no matter what even though the session was just playing perfectly fine a min before with nothing new added! Only fix is to close the session or pro tools but even after that it happens again in 5min. Any one of you vents know this problem or how to fix it? If I create a thread it will be out of anger, so I'm trying my luck here...help
__________________
Ramon

--

site: http://www.everythinglegit.com

Wah gwaan down deh..

System: Pro Tools LE, mbox 2, m-audio keyboard, HP DV7 laptop, Reaper 3 and alot of studios.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-01-2010, 07:59 PM
jimst57 jimst57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 265
Default Re: Tired of the problems

[QUOTE=cwsand;1601776 I would have thought an MCSE would understand the importance of troubleshooting and optimizing your hardware for the job it's trying to do. But you obviously know more about computers than all of us - I'm just a musician who has a working Pro Tools system. [/QUOTE]

No I don't. There are lots people that are MCSE. But I do understand what I'm doing and this software has problems. If you have a working Pro Tools system good for you. But it's wrong for them to be selling a product to the general public that doesn't work well with all but some very perfect systems .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting tired of this!!!! satchvai 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-01-2008 12:11 AM
Getting tired of this!!!! satchvai 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-31-2008 11:56 AM
Tired of Looking Ed_Miles Digidesign Hardware & Software 7 11-18-2006 12:39 PM
So very tired..... ape77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-18-2002 05:49 AM
tired of all the config problems gabriel_p 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-13-2002 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com