Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-31-2009, 04:23 PM
barry fell barry fell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Will the MBox 2 Mini work with Windows 7 64-bit?

I'm looking to start using Pro Tools but i'm a bit confused about compatibility with W7 64bit so thought I better ask.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-31-2009, 06:48 PM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

I know this is just antidotal evidance but this is an unofficial thread so...

I updated my Dell XPS Vista 64 bit to Win7 64 bit today with the free Dell Upgrade. It was about a 4-5 hour job. But the DVD's supplied by Dell did a generally good job and Win7 did install as an upgrade meaing I did not lose any of my piror PT 8.0.1 install.

Good news is that PT LE came right to to life (run as admin) with no tweaks. The install did slip in IE8, but, no problems. SO FAR.

So now I begin the process of seeing how well it runs. I'll check back with results later.
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-31-2009, 07:22 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,891
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Good thread Benoni.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:35 PM
5xx 5xx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Anyone willing to detail the steps?
I been reading, but finally decided to post my question.
Basic setup here, 32bit Windows 7 Ultimate running. I updated my Pro Tools to 8.0. Everything installed, but I get no windows sounds or nothing. Did the update legacy driver thing. Nothing.
Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant card running. It did try to install the MBox 2 Pro Boot-loader or something like that. I let it run for a few minutes, but didn't find anything.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-01-2009, 01:27 AM
BareWristed BareWristed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Hi. Im new to this forum, so hi everyone.

Im trying to run LE 8 on windows 7 64 bit build 7600. It installed smoothly but when i open it, it loads up to "DAE Loaded", then protools reports "not responding" Any help please
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-01-2009, 05:00 AM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by BareWristed View Post
Hi. Im new to this forum, so hi everyone.

Im trying to run LE 8 on windows 7 64 bit build 7600. It installed smoothly but when i open it, it loads up to "DAE Loaded", then protools reports "not responding" Any help please
BareWristed
Welcome to the forum. This individual thread was started to specifically address running PT LE on Win7 since it is such a new issue. Keep in mind Win7 is not supported by Digi at this time.

Your question might be best addressed in a separate individual thread since folks will start asking you a lot of questions about your hardward / software and you will be able to interact more directly on your question and not get all convoluted in the overall Win7 thing.

So start here and then open a new thread:
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=193637

Good Luck.
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-01-2009, 07:16 AM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

I have been recording for the past 2 hours on the newly installed Win7 64 bit, and PT is AWESOME . Not one hiccup with all channels blazing. Just had to share.
Horn players coming over later today can't wait to lay down more tracks.

I know that there is soooo much more to verify is working properly, and then confirm that it will stay working, but this morning, I am one happy jazzman!!!
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-01-2009, 07:53 AM
MrBlack MrBlack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
ok then the next time you run into bandwidth problems dont use Run As Admin. I know what i am talking about, so carry on. Just so you know i have gotten 3 people up and running on Win 7 just this week, when they have had no success with the "common" answer of Run as admin does nothing, and just delete IE8. So carry on, but i believe my success rate of getting people running speaks for itself.
I'm interested to know how it provides more 'bandwidth'. If you could back it up with some technical documentation I would be less skeptical.
__________________
003R - PT 11.0.3 - MAC Mini - SSD for OS & 2nd Internal Hard Drive for Recording - 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-01-2009, 10:34 AM
5xx 5xx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Type DEV into the search menu. Choose Devices and Printers. Is the Mbox listed as working? Did you watch both videos I made and follow the instructions? What do you mean by Windows sounds?
Thanks for the reply. Yes MBox2 Pro is listed as working. Just finished watching those videos. Only part I skipped was the compatibility part. It installed fine, but I will reinstall again. By windows sounds I mean the system sounds, along with music play back.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-01-2009, 01:07 PM
petersrin petersrin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Windows 7 RC x64 installed. Waiting to get an i7 for the official W7.

Pro Tools runs just as fast on this as XP, which is to say 40 dverbs is too much for it to handle.

However, if you have kensington drivers installed, as always, uninstall them before installing PTLE.

Also, though PT is not any slower, W7 slowed down considerably when I installed PT. Things performed at perhaps 1/2 the normal, snappy W7 speed.

I expect much of this is due to my highly outdated, unapproved rig that I purchased before I knew of PT's existence. Sony Acid Pro 6.0 ran great on it 3 years ago!
__________________
CoolMaster Sileo 500 -- GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R -- i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
6GB DDR3 @ 1140 MHz -- nVidia GeForce 8600 GT -- 3 SATA II 7200
Mac OS X 10.6 SL (Hackintosh) PT8.0.4LE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE UNOFFICIAL "DAVE C" TEST RESULT THREAD scuzzytim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 79 07-14-2010 08:21 PM
The unofficial PTLE bottom-feeder thread! M.Brane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 07-18-2006 06:07 PM
unofficial "Problems with PT7" thread nikki-k Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 68 05-02-2006 01:00 PM
---unofficial BTD report only thread--- nikki-k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 59 12-02-2003 04:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com