Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2020, 04:09 AM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 109
Default Update 8HD to 10HD

Is it still possible to update
8HD to 10HD
Old TDM system.
Sorry if this is a dumb question.
__________________
https://www.glasshousestudios.com.au

Mac Pro 5,1 (Early 2009)
2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
96 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
macOS Mojave 10.14.6,
Radeon RX 580 8GB
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
HDX card
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2020, 10:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

I'm afraid not possible any longer.

But if you buy current version Ultimate license it comes with 10/11/12 licenses as well. Avid Account will show at least latest 10.3.10 version download but Avid Support will send you any version you may want to use.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2020, 07:00 PM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 109
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I'm afraid not possible any longer.

But if you buy current version Ultimate license it comes with 10/11/12 licenses as well. Avid Account will show at least latest 10.3.10 version download but Avid Support will send you any version you may want to use.
Thankyou
Remind me please..
Does 10HD run ok on Mac OS X 10.6.8?
__________________
https://www.glasshousestudios.com.au

Mac Pro 5,1 (Early 2009)
2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
96 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
macOS Mojave 10.14.6,
Radeon RX 580 8GB
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
HDX card
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2020, 07:07 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by anguswoodhead View Post
Remind me please.. Does 10HD run ok on Mac OS X 10.6.8?
Perfect. Compatibility info here. Please bookmark.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2020, 06:24 AM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 469
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

very stable on OS 10.6.8
but if you use HD (TDM) Hardware be sure to
use PT 10.3.8 , because PT 10.3.9 and 10.3.10
introduced , never fixed , Bugs with TDM Hardware .
Used it for years in the past , without any Problems.
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2020, 01:42 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterle View Post
very stable on OS 10.6.8
but if you use HD (TDM) Hardware be sure to
use PT 10.3.8 , because PT 10.3.9 and 10.3.10
introduced , never fixed , Bugs with TDM Hardware .
Used it for years in the past , without any Problems.


What bugs were introduced?? I’m on 10.3.10 all seems ok??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2020, 02:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
What bugs were introduced?? I’m on 10.3.10 all seems ok??
Memory issues. If occasional crash won't bother you don't worry about it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2020, 02:41 PM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 109
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterle View Post
very stable on OS 10.6.8
but if you use HD (TDM) Hardware be sure to
use PT 10.3.8 , because PT 10.3.9 and 10.3.10
introduced , never fixed , Bugs with TDM Hardware .
Used it for years in the past , without any Problems.
Awesome
Thankyou
__________________
https://www.glasshousestudios.com.au

Mac Pro 5,1 (Early 2009)
2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
96 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
macOS Mojave 10.14.6,
Radeon RX 580 8GB
Antelope Audio Orion 32 HD
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
HDX card
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2020, 03:24 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

With that said -- and this is not a recommendation -- I am running PT 10.3.10 on OSX 10.9.5 (2009 Mac Pro w/HD3) which is unsupported configuration, but only flaw I have found is the uninstaller doesn't work. Don't care about that
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-02-2020, 02:04 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Update 8HD to 10HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
With that said -- and this is not a recommendation -- I am running PT 10.3.10 on OSX 10.9.5 (2009 Mac Pro w/HD3) which is unsupported configuration, but only flaw I have found is the uninstaller doesn't work. Don't care about that


Same here. Don’t have any issues at all


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wtb pt 10hd Glenn Ens Buy & Sell 1 02-10-2020 01:04 PM
Wtb: Pt 10hd autopilot Buy & Sell 4 06-22-2016 07:42 PM
Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay) Concept Chelia Pro Tools 10 7 09-12-2014 04:01 AM
Wtb: Pt 10hd Alex TCH Buy & Sell 0 06-19-2013 09:44 AM
Cant update to protools 10hd after lion upgrade? Studio x macOS 2 03-10-2012 11:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com