Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2019, 01:38 PM
vandwedge vandwedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Default opening pro tools stops my mic

My mic is plugged in and working fine. Other programs (like Audacity) can read it, record it, and play it back. In my sound settings, it looks like this when there's noise being made into it.



Then I open Pro Tools First and, as it's loading, the computer loses all recognition of my mic, for every program. The sound settings look like this when I make noise into the mic:



This continues until I close Pro Tools, then the mic goes back to working again.

Things I've already tried: adjusting the Playback Engine's pulldown menus, adjusting Windows' "microphone privacy settings."

Any ideas of how I can fix this? I'm running Windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2019, 03:57 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 658
Default Re: opening pro tools stops my mic

Normal operation
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.5 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2019, 04:40 PM
vandwedge vandwedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Default Re: opening pro tools stops my mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64GTOBOY View Post
Normal operation
I'm not sure what you mean?
I'm trying to use Pro Tools to record my mic input and I can't.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2019, 09:05 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,467
Default Re: opening pro tools stops my mic

Hi what mic are you using and how is conected to your pc ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2019, 10:24 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 658
Default Re: opening pro tools stops my mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Hi what mic are you using and how is conected to your pc ?
His post is showing the internal mic only.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.5 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2019, 10:28 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,467
Default Re: opening pro tools stops my mic

Yeah i saw but with the lack of info is impossible to help more :-/ .
At least for me us not all clear or i don't understand well .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Thru stops working after sequence playback stops kelcarpenter MIDI 20 03-16-2016 11:43 AM
Soundminer stops pro tools double click opening garret Post - Surround - Video 6 04-08-2011 04:32 AM
Session stops opening while Activating Inserts A.J. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-12-2007 12:44 PM
Error stops me from opening Protools Robert Mattsson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-05-2005 06:35 PM
HELP PLEASE!!!! Pro Tools Stops!! thope Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-10-2002 07:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com