Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Old 03-27-2019, 01:56 PM

Default Audio buffer latency settings

Apologies as I am very new to making music.

I have an Akai Mpk mini 2 and am getting really random latency. I contacted Akai and they said it will be the audio buffer settings in the software that need changing. I really cannot find these settings even though the menu options are limited. The only settings I can find that are remotely close are the Playback Engine which still don’t say anything about audio buffer.

Any help would be appreciated as the latency is so bad I cant start making music.
Cheers
Little ears
Old 03-27-2019, 02:06 PM

Default Re: Audio buffer latency settings

Playback Engine > I/O Buffer Size

Smaller IO buffer the lower latency but the more load on the computer... up until the point the DAW cannot run.

Uncheck “ignore errors”, ignoring errors adds more latency as well.

Some plugins add latency.

Different signal routing/bussing can add latency. Start with a trivial session with one track and no bussing and just whatever VI plugin you are using on an instrument track (make sure you are using an Instrument not audio track). Actually start with the Mini Grand standard VI plugin (hope that is included in PT First) and get that working OK first.

And in this case there may be MIDI latency issues as well.

If you still have problems and want help you need to give lots more clear info about what your setup is, what exactly you are seeing, and what you have tried.
Old 03-27-2019, 02:32 PM

IDK for sure but PT First wont let you change some settings, IIRC it doesnt let you mess with the audio engine settings much. There is a whole list of FAQs in the PT First forum
Old 03-27-2019, 02:42 PM