Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2019, 10:35 AM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 520
Default Renewal

Close to my annual renewal - and I am not impressed. I find it hard to persuade my self into renewing my subscription. Is it just me who have this feeling?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2019, 10:37 AM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 78
Default Re: Renewal

Just did it because the price is going to be higher (rumors) for reinstatements.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2019, 11:48 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Default Re: Renewal

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS-DK View Post
Is it just me who have this feeling?
Definitely not. Many of my colleagues have already jumped off the wagon because they felt that their money went down the drain. I was the last one that let my plan lapse, for that same reason and some more, that i have already expressed in another threads.

Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2019, 11:53 AM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 520
Default Re: Renewal

I know this sounds crazy, but the only feature that I can't find in another DAW (as far as I know) is the clip gain, which I use a lot. If Logic or Nuendo had the same thing - working the same way - then I think this would be it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2019, 12:58 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Renewal

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS-DK View Post
I know this sounds crazy, but the only feature that I can't find in another DAW (as far as I know) is the clip gain, which I use a lot. If Logic or Nuendo had the same thing - working the same way - then I think this would be it.
Cubendo does. It's that little volume on the clip in the edit window. Nuendo has been used for Post for a long time (mostly in Europe and not the US where we are locked to Pro Tools.) Clip gain is a feature Pro Tools adopted late that dialogue editors first demanded/used in other DAWs.

To be clear, clip gain has been used in NLE for video production, in other DAWs used in audio post production, and was even part of the AAF/OMF interchange format way, way, way before Pro Tools added it.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:10 PM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 520
Default Re: Renewal

Thanks - but what about multi point clip gain? I have only seen this in PT - I have only seen full clip gain in Nuendo.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:28 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: Renewal

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS-DK View Post
Close to my annual renewal - and I am not impressed. I find it hard to persuade my self into renewing my subscription. Is it just me who have this feeling?
Hallelujah for perp lic’s
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:32 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Renewal

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS-DK View Post
Thanks - but what about multi point clip gain? I have only seen this in PT - I have only seen full clip gain in Nuendo.
It's there too. Try adding points to the clip gain line.
Seriously, way before Pro Tools.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2019, 05:50 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 189
Default Re: Renewal

Generally updates have been very poor since in the subscription plan was implemented, a few features, but usually bug fixes, and OS compatibility.

The price difference between Standard and Ultimate is vastly different, yet most of the 'HD only features' have been passed to the standard version in the last 3 years.


They added Tax to the ultimate user that uses HD/HDN/HDX hardware in the form of a digilink licence on top of the Ultimate tariff.


We now need to see more of a push to get the promised voice upgrade to HDX, and maybe an option for the standard version to operate with Avid hardware, without the need for Surround, for a better price, and make music studios, (stereo mixing) very happy!
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2019, 07:15 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 606
Default Re: Renewal

Quote:
To be clear, clip gain has been used in NLE for video production, in other DAWs used in audio post production, and was even part of the AAF/OMF interchange format way, way, way before Pro Tools added it.
Clip gain, along with clip FX was in Avid Audiovision in the 90's!
Avid have been chasing their own tail for years.
We finally got Clip gain & Clip FX in PT fairly recently, relatively.
On the plus side at least PT 2019 is now as stable as Audiovision was in 1998 and admittedly doing a lot more heavy lifting sound-wise.
That could well have a lot to do with the massive increase in CPU power in the interim of course.
Don't get me started on folders in the clips list (also a feature of Audiovision).

Really.. a flat list of hundreds of individual clips in each session's Clip list with no way to organise them... in 2019!
It is almost beyond belief.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is my renewal? mspin Licensing & Accounts 4 09-13-2019 05:41 PM
Renewal problem sleepingtiger Licensing & Accounts 8 04-15-2018 12:20 PM
PT 12 not HD - which renewal do I need? protoolsuseraccount Pro Tools 12 2 01-27-2017 03:05 PM
Renewal vs Reinstatement zygmunt Licensing & Accounts 12 12-29-2016 11:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com